Beat it, heat.

Being pregnant during the summer sucks, especially when you don’t have air conditioning. A simple day of hanging around the house, trying to accomplish a few chores leaves me so utterly exhausted that after Nolan is in bed, I can barely string words together. Seriously, typing this post is taking even more energy {I know, why do it right? But I feel like complaining…so…yeah lol}.

Before showering….ewww
after showering…my favourite dress right now. thrifted 😉
   

It’s taken me all day to fold and put away a few baskets of laundry and tidy the upstairs. I kept having to sit down for breaks in front of the fan, and that is extremely frustrating for a [pregnant] woman on a mission! I had goals today! I wanted to finish catching up on laundry, go through Nolan’s closet and dresser {to pack away clothes he’s grown out of} and reorganize the baby’s closet. I also wanted to go through the several bags of kid clothes that Matt’s friend gave to us and make some head way on the playroom/rec room. I also wanted to wash my floors and clean the bathrooms. Oh, and then there’s the regular daily cleaning the kitchen and picking up after a toddler.

Needless to say, I didn’t get a lot accomplished. I’m still working – just taking a break while the floor dries. Then I get to clean the kitchen {again}, fold another basket or two of laundry, and maybe, just maybe, have another cold shower.

Today wasn’t all sucky though, when Matt came home from school we went to Walmart to buy another fan. The car was lovely and air conditioned, and so was Walmart! We also picked up some furniture paint for the baby’s dresser and change pad table. I’m so excited to make Matt paint them 😉 hopefully he’ll find time for it soon! He’s still working on my dresser {apparently it needs one more coat…sigh}.

After hitting up Walmart, we went to the food court for a bite to eat. Nolan was, of course, super hilarious! His vocabulary is really booming. If only my phone would connect properly to my laptop, I have tons of videos of him chattering away happily that I’m dying to post! Instead, pictures:

 Nolan being cute & having Daddy help him drink some juice 😉
he’s wearing an adorable thrifted monster shirt that Matt picked out!
P.S. Can you find Matt in the first picture? LOL!

So yeah, that was our day. Apparently tomorrow is supposed to be even hotter than today {oh please save me}, so I don’t think I’ll be getting much done then either! It’s also supposed to storm all day….which is lame, but maybe the rain will somehow make it feel cooler? Here’s hoping! Friday is supposed to be very sunny and warm, so Matt is going to paint the change pad table then! And the dresser too, if my dresser is done.

Hopefully y’all had a wonderful Wednesday! 

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in complaining, housewifey stuff, I don't really know, photos, pregnancy, rambling, random, rants. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Beat it, heat.

  1. I feel for you girl. I was you last summer. Sit in front of a fan all day if it keeps you comfortable. Have cold bathes. Just a few more weeks and it'll start to cool down.

  2. jessi ♥ says:

    @Danielle-Marie: Sucks that I have to do that though! I'd much rather be enjoying the sunshine, taking Nolan to the beach but if I go by myself with them, I'm afraid of all the passing out I might do :\

  3. dramaticmama says:

    I LOVE that dress Jess!!! Definitely a cute find!! 🙂 Also, love the monster shirt that N is wearing. And I can also spot Matt in the first picture. lol. #expertwhereswaldofinder

    I agree with Danielle, I was you last year as well. I stayed infront of a fan/AC all day!! Unless of coarse I had to work. Thankfully I gave up working early. haha.

  4. jessi ♥ says:

    @Dramaticmama: Yeah I love it too! And yeah, I totally thought “WHERE'S WALDO” when I saw that pic haha.

  5. That dress is so gorgeous!! I am right here with ya hating this heat. Last summer it was awful being pregnant and the heat. I can't imagine being nearly seven months in this weather!! Hoping it breaks and you get some relief soon! Send Matt to get you copious amounts of Coke Slushies!!
    <3

Leave a Reply

