A third post was born…

My third post today…holy, I’m chatty. Oh well. It can’t be helped, Matt has left for his guys weekend at the property and Nolan is in bed…I’m much too wired for bed myself, so what else is there for a gal to do!? I’ve already caught up on reading blogs too! I KNOW. Right?! So yeah. A third post was born…

I sort of have a love/hate relationship with our current house rental. I love the indoor space {for a tour, click on the following house tour posts: the kitchen/dining room, the living room, our master bedroom, the kids bedrooms {and the upstairs hallway}, the front hall, guest bathroom, & kids bathroom, and the downstairs rec room & spare bedroom}. But…I’m not a fan of the outdoor space…

 Basically the only bit of green on “our” lot….and it’s fugly 😦 
I sorta wanna do a triangular garden box bed thing, 
but I’m hesitant to spend tons of money when we probably won’t be renewing our lease come May…
 the view from our front porch is a lovely garbage dumpster.
the town is very good about picking up the garbage every other day, but still.
& also, our “front yard” has absolutely no grass thanks to the pathway beside our house that everybody uses for a short cut. {again, NO PRIVACY}.

 awkward ugly space with strange tree thing…
 front of our house.

 view from the back deck & looking at the deck.
I want to get either one of those tiny 3 piece patio sets, or a little bench for seating.

 our “back yard”. also known as the complex kid hangout area, apparently.

And, you see…I want to be comfortable out there so that we don’t always have to walk to the park. But I just feel so bad when I’m sitting on my front porch, or even my back porch. I feel like there’s absolutely no privacy. But I know that when I get bigger {and bigger}, I won’t always want to do that walk to the park. Not every day.

I don’t want to feel ashamed and all awkward when people visit, either. The pathetic missing patches of grass…it’s totally lame.

Plus, I’m still super uncomfortable after the whole peeping Tom thing. And if I’m being incredibly honest…there are a lot of shady people who live in and around this area that make me feel uncomfortable. Maybe I’m just shy, maybe I’m just judgmental {although I swear I try not to be!}, or maybe it has something to do with the warnings I’ve heard from other people {police friend, paramedic BIL} about neighbors etc.

Blah. It just sucks that you can’t know who your neighbors are going to be before you move in. Obviously, the people you rent off of {or in our case, company} won’t tell you if there are shady neighbors or happenings in the neighborhood. Also, I sort of have myself to blame for the whole garbage dumpster thing…since we knew about it before moving in. BUT, there weren’t any other units available anywhere, and we were pressed for time to find a new place and move.

BUT I have to get over it {and myself} because we’re going to be here for at least the next 10 months. I need some ideas to make it prettier outside, so that I can enjoy being out there more. Any suggestions? On the cheap, of course!

Also: totally unrelated to this post but I’m still having issues with my Android and getting it to connect to my laptop. It says it’s connected on my phone, but I can’t bring up the media files to do transfers. I don’t get it…I’ve been having to email all my pictures lately, and that sucks because I have A LOT of pictures! Anyone know why this is happening/what I can do to fix it?!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in house and home, photos, random, stuff, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A third post was born…

  1. tamara says:

    wish i had some suggestions for the yard/privacy issues…looks nice from the front at least 🙂

    ooh i know…maybe get some potted plants or potted trees to place around the area? could you maybe plant some stuff? Nolan might like to help with that…can get gardening stuff at like dollarama and stuff…or get some stepping stones…

    that's all i have for suggestions right now 🙂

    hopefully you figure something out…shame to actually have a backyard and not really feel comfortable using it

  2. jessi ♥ says:

    @Tamara: there's definitely no answer for the privacy issues {and the lack of grass out front}. I know that if we DID lay new grass down, people would just trample it anyway and it would look like that again. 😦

  3. kr says:

    your phone is probably in charge mode only, I believe you have to set it in your settings to ask you to be either in disk drive mode or usb charge mode under PC connection. 🙂

  4. jessi ♥ says:

    @kr: How do I switch it to media mode?? I thought it was! lol!

  5. I don't really think there is much you can do since you're renting and you're not planning on staying there after your lease is up. I'm sorry I don't have better suggestions. Perhaps one of those turtle shell shaped sandboxes out front? At least Nolan could have a play area without you having to go to the park all the time. You could get an umbrella as well to provide some shade. And both of those things can go with you when you do move.

  6. kr says:

    On my phone I select the settings, then connect to PC, and either change the default connection type or just select the “ask me” about usb conntion type whenever I connect my phone to a pc.

    Hope that helps

  7. jessi ♥ says:

    @Danielle-Marie: True, true 😦

    @kr: Mine says that it's connected to media storage mode, but my laptop won't bring it up :S maybe it's an issue with the laptop?

  8. kr says:

    I would say if you do not see it as a drive letter that you might need a driver for your phone. 🙂

  9. jessi ♥ says:

    @kr: But it used to work :S

Leave a Reply

