Stuff and Stuff

I’ve been keeping local again, because we’re supposed to have our new cabinets for the kitchen delivered “any day now”. I don’t want to go to the park and miss the workers, so I’ve been hanging around the house. Luckily, Nolan is pretty easy going and doesn’t care where we are as long as we’re playing and having fun! {Although he does love being outside!}. I’ll be calling and demanding an actual day though, because this is getting a tad ridiculous. I don’t want to spend every day this week inside waiting for them, when they’re perfectly capable of narrowing it down to at least a day right?

Anyways, in addition, I’ve called Sick Kids to see if they have Nolan’s appointment date yet. They don’t. I’m getting a little aggravated, considering they’ve had his referral for a year now. I just want a date so I can plan to get there in time! It’s not like I live an hour away like before. We’re 4.5 hours away, and I actually have to travel down south prior to the appointment {since long drives are hard and I have to factor in “recovery time”}. If he doesn’t get his appointment before his August 11th check up with his pediatrician, I will be requesting an x-ray on his arm and wrist. They are growing rapidly and I want to make sure they aren’t interfering or going to interfere with any nerves, muscles, joints etc. If we get the x-ray done before his Sick Kids appointment, then they can bring it up while we’re there.

On a lighter note, Matt and I have set the date…for our first ever camping trip! I am so stoked, I can’t wait for August 5th! We’re heading up that morning {the Friday}, and staying until Sunday afternoon or so. Saturday {August 6th} is supposed to be the huge family reunion at the beach, so that’s going to be fun! I’m nervous…this will be my first time camping with a toddler {um, and being pregnant!} but I can’t wait. Matt’s dad is letting us use his very comfortable trailer for the weekend, since nobody seems to want me to do the whole tent camping thing {lest of all me haha}. I can’t wait for Nolan’s first boat ride, his first “fishing” {off the dock, anyway} experience with daddy and Grandpa G, his first ride in Grandpa G’s golf cart thing, and I’m totally stoked for his first campfire! I’m not normally one to load my kid up with sugar, but I can’t wait for Nolan to try smores and banana boats and spider wienies! We’ll be bringing the kiddie pool for the in between beach times. The beach is located at the other side of the lake, and it’s rather difficult to get at the lake for swimming from the spot we’ll be camping at since it’s on a sorta steep hill and there’s no beach area yet – Grandpa G will probably eventually make a beach there but it isn’t there yet.

I just know Nolan is going to love camping! He loves the outdoors, and he loves exploring. He also loves new experiences! I know it’s going to be exhausting {and thankfully this post on how to take a family trip while pitifully pregnant by Alyssa has some pointers for me haha!} but I can’t wait. I’ve always loved camping! Last year we didn’t go because I was too busy trying to plan the wedding. Poor excuse, and looking back I could have used a break! It also would have been nice to take our honeymoon trip up at the lake. But meh!

I’m also excited for May – which is like a billion lightyears away {okay, more like 10 months}. Matt and I have nearly officially decided to move back down South! We do love Northern Ontario, but we want to be closer to the majority of our family. We’ve been here for two years, and I feel pretty isolated half the time. I’m missing my friends and family down south, there was always someone available for a play date or visit. There was always something to do and there are way more people to potentially babysit our kids on date night πŸ˜‰ {which we never have…because we don’t have sitters here}. I’m sorta getting ahead of myself in my excitement…looking at house rentals and what not. But in my defense, I want to know how much it’s gonna cost to rent a 3 bedroom house with a garage! It’s um, pretty pricey. But I think it’d be worth it. We’ll probably apply for a mortgage {and get denied, lol}, but Matt and I both agree that while although renting sucks {because you are paying someone else’s mortgage}, it’s a lot better than nothing, right? Plus we want to rent a house, we want to have a little yard and not worry about neighbors directly above or below us. And it’s the GTA, so, obviously it’s more expensive.

BUT YA. I’m glad I’ve finally gotten Matt on board with the whole “let’s move back down South” thing. We’ll still visit the great North. Hell, I think we’ll visit more not living here, we’ll definitely make more trips to the property for camping, that’s for sure!

And thus concludes this random rant of words and plans and randomness. I just…felt like writing? And this is what’s happening/going on in my head right now. So, why not right?!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in family, I talk to hear myself speak, plans, random, stuff, the future, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stuff and Stuff

  1. Natasha says:

    Yay! Best post ever! Can't wait for you guys to move back & for all our kids to play together. Little ones will only be like a month apart πŸ™‚

  2. @Natasha: Heh, I was waiting for that πŸ˜‰ YES! You and all the other lovely mama friends we have out there are the reason I'm moving back! Oh, and my family πŸ˜‰ hehehe.

  3. I am feeling for your right now. How hard it is to worry about our children. Landon's eczema was so bad at one point that he had open cuts all over his body from scratching so hard 😦 It must be so much more difficult for you because you relate directly to what Nolan is feeling.

    Your camping trip sounds like it'll be a blast. I'm sad we can't do it yet this summer because Hannah is just too small to but there is always next year. I'm happy for you that you get to stay in a comfy trailer! I camped pregnant in a tent and it was no picnic πŸ˜‰

    I'm happy for you that you're moving home. Home is where the heart is. That's why I left northern Ontario too. Best decision I ever made. And I think applying for a mortgage is a great idea. The worst they can say is no, and then you can just rent for a couple years and try again later.

  4. @Danielle-Marie: How scary! Poor Landon 😦 I am super excited for our trip, and I'm hoping we will feel brave enough to go again next year with the baby {he'll only be 8 months or so though so who knows}. It's true, the worst they can say is no and we'll just do what we're doing! AND, when I move back, we'll have to make plans to finally meet up with the kids…maybe at that restaurant we both like haha!

  5. I think that's a great idea. I barely have any mommy friends 😦

  6. @Danielle-Marie: You shall have me! I certainly don't mind making trips out that way, since I'll be visiting my grandparents lots too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

