Twenty-four Weeks

Twenty-four weeks down, sixteen more to go. I have four more months still left, but it still feels like “crunch time” is beginning. I am firing out to-do lists, trying to organize how we’re going to go about getting everything done, and basically brimming with excitement! The next four months are going to fly by. The last four months of my pregnancy with Nolan basically didn’t happen, they flew by so quickly. So I am determined to make sure I cross everything off my to-do list well before October!

I’m feeling pretty good, although I’m basically over hormones. They totally kicked my ass right into this week, all week long. Very lame. Very difficult for my poor boys too. I guess it doesn’t help that both Nolan and I have been massively sick with nasty coughs and runny noses…but still. Let’s blame the hormones, shall we?

I am also super drained – probably because I’m just getting over (or beginning to get over, rather) whatever random illness hit us last week. Sigh. Also, pregnancy is draining, no? But still, I am so excited and practically dancing every time I think about sweet October. My baby to-do list actually doesn’t stress me out as much as I thought it would, I’m super excited to do all the things on it.

According to Baby Center, my little guy has gained 4 ounces since last week and is continuing to grow steadily. He’s almost a foot long (an ear of corn) and still very lean, but he will start to plump up soon.

My little man is so very active, it still throws me through a loop! Nolan was pretty much only active for like 4 hours spread out throughout the day, but this little guy is busy non-stop. I’m beginning to wonder if he ever sleeps! And also, is this an indication that he won’t sleep out of the womb? Because that would be lame. I know newborns aren’t fantastic sleepers but I’m hoping to at least get one 5 hour stretch during the night.

When he moves, I can see my entire belly moving. It’s pretty awesome! I even took this video of my belly yesterday (watch the right side of the belly).

Belly at 24 weeks from jessi on Vimeo.

I absolutely adore feeling him kick, but I am scared about how my bladder’s going to hold up during those last few months of pregnancy.

Nolan is beginning to really get excited about the baby, he will bring over toys and play with them on my belly. He will bring my belly books and snacks. It’s adorable! But I don’t think he really understands, not yet anyway, considering he thought Robyn also had a baby in her belly (even though she definitely does not look pregnant, he just thinks all women have babies in their bellies!). I love how he will point out babies around us now, and wave to them. So cute. Nolan is going to be a fantastic big brother; he’s already a great help!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in photos, pregnancy, updates, videos. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Twenty-four Weeks

  1. Anonymous says:

    I like how the baby kicked right when character on the TV show playing in the background went “AACCHHOOOO!!!”.

  2. jessi ♥ says:

    @Anonymous: 🙂 haha yeah, that was good timing on his part 😉

  3. I love the video! Does the baby react to sudden noises and such yet?

  4. jessi ♥ says:

    @Danielle-Marie: Yep! He loves to dance 😉

Leave a Reply

