My Little Helper

Nolan is such a sweetheart, and he loves to help out around the house almost as much as he loves to make a big mess! This morning, I was carrying a basket of clean laundry up the stairs from the basement. I set it down on the ground so I could close the baby gate, and Nolan grabbed it and dragged it into the living room for me. When I saw him go for it, I was sort of expecting him to dump all the clean clothes on the floor, not drag it into the living room for me.

Then he helped me fold it! Daddy took some pictures because it was the first time he had ever seen Nolan “helping” with chores.

After the laundry was folded, I asked Nolan if he could take a few tissues to the garbage for me. He also picked up the dryer sheet and threw that out too. Then he came back looking for more to do, so I asked him to carry an empty mug into the kitchen for me. He usually puts his empty sippy cup on the counter, but I guess the counter was pretty loaded up with baking supplies from last night’s baking experiment, so there wasn’t any room.

Instead of putting it on the counter, he put it on top of the garbage pail.

Does this mean I need to start paying him an allowance?

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Little Helper

  1. dramaticmama says:

    AWH! love that!!!
    At least you have one boy that helps you eh? 😛 lol.
    I would start giving him a small allowance, lol, or “gold stars” or something fun. 😉

  2. jessi ♥ says:

    @dramaticmama: Gold stars sounds fun! I'm not sure he would understand the concept of an allowance yet…hmm. I'm not really sure!

  3. tamara says:

    awwww so cute (and so much more helpful than my sister can be sometimes lol)

    when my younger cousin was younger than Nolan, she spilled some milk from her bottle on my aunt's couch..she toddled to the kitchen to get a cloth, came back, cleaned the milk off the couch then took the cloth back to the kitchen…was so cute

    as for allowance, could always just put or like $1 or something into a piggy bank sometimes so that when he is older and understands the concept he'll already have some saved up

  4. That's adorable! I've noticed Landon has been helpful lately too. It'll come in handy when new baby gets there. You can ask Nolan to grab you a diaper and such.

  5. jessi ♥ says:

    @Tamara: Aww so cute! And that's what I was thinking of doing, a weekly allowance of a dollar. Then when he has enough saved up, taking him somewhere to buy a little toy or something lol.

    @Danielle-Marie: Yeah, he already fetches diapers and wipes for me, then promptly runs away because he HATES having his butt changed lol!

Leave a Reply

