My Husband, On Father’s Day…

When Matt and I got pregnant with Nolan, it was “too soon”. We were “too young”, “too clueless”, and “too broke”. All we really knew about each other was that we were both passionately and madly in love. I have all those too’s in quotations because I’m still not sure there ever is a time when someone can be fully prepared to have a baby.

I never doubted that Matt would be an amazing father. Since the day we found out I was pregnant with Nolan, Matt has worked so hard to provide for our family, to ensure that we had everything we needed and wanted. He went from being an unemployed, rather lazy individual who had no goals or plans and just wanted to have fun to a hard working, driven man reaching his goals – our goals – at an extraordinary speed. He’s climbed the ladder, working in a restaurant as a dish boy, to working in a call center, to working at a masonry company to attending college full-time and keeping his basically full-time fusion welding job. He works so incredibly hard so that one day soon, we won’t have to struggle or live paycheck to paycheck.

In addition to excelling at providing, he still has time to be an amazing father to Nolan in all the important ways. He has always done 50/50 of the diaper changes and care for Nolan. He’s spent late nights walking a colicy newborn Nolan around when I just couldn’t anymore. He has rocked him to sleep during the horrible teething moments. Even though he’s in school full-time and working basically full-time, his every moment that he is home is spent with Nolan. He bathes Nolan, reads to him, cuddles with him before bed, chases him around the house, builds mega block towers with him and crazy awesome forts, and takes him to the park. He teaches him new things, and never ceases to show Nolan he is incredibly loved and cared for. Matt easily makes Nolan feel as if he is the most important thing in the world, because he is. Nolan runs to his daddy with boo-boos, for cuddles, for anything. I know Matt is eagerly waiting for the day that he can take his boy fishing, and the space to build igloos and tobogganing slides for him.

I know that spending most of his time out of the house, working or in school is hard on Matt. He’d love to spend every waking moment playing with his boy, and going on adventures. But he wakes up and goes to school and work every day, because he feels his son deserves everything he can possibly give him.Β 

When I watch them together, I am full of pride. I am proud of the man my husband is, and every day I fall more and more in love with him. He puts up with my moods, and loves me even when I’m being completely unrealistic. Nolan can hear his truck coming from five minutes away, and he’ll dance around the house with happiness: he looks up to his daddy so much, and I don’t blame him. Matt is the kind of father that my dad is. A hard working, dedicated family man.

So, thank you babe…for being amazing without even trying. For being the father I have always wanted for my kids. I know our babies will grow up happy and healthy, knowing that their daddy is a hard working man that loves them to the moon and back. I know that our kids will be fantastic fathers too, all because of you and the dedication and love you show them.Β 

Happy Fathers Day babe. Here’s to many, many more!!!

xoxo

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in letters, love, loving life, Matt, these are the moments. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Husband, On Father’s Day…

  1. Such a nice post πŸ™‚ I'm glad he's so dedicated to his family.

  2. Jess, this is a really nice tribute. You guys make me smile.

    Happy Father's Day, Matt!

  3. PS: The award for Most Changed Blog Design goes to… Jess! (;

    I liked the old header a lot, but this one is gorgeous. You did a really nice job with it!

  4. @Danielle-Marie: Thanks!! And so am I!

    @Elizabeth: I didn't design the header, it was JD (http://dramaticmama.blogspot.com) πŸ˜€ and thanks!

  5. This made me cry! Your so lucky! He seems like a great husband and father.

    I adore the picture of Matt & Nolan on the swing. CUTE!

  6. @Beautiful Mess: thank you! He really is πŸ™‚ I love that photo too. It's in nolan's room πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

