Sand Beneath Our Toes

This morning, I had some errands to run. I wasn’t expecting to finish up so quickly, so when I looked at the clock and realized we had plenty of time to kill before lunch and nap time, I decided to have a fun Mommy and Nolan morning. We haven’t had one of those in a long while, thanks to my lack of energy and motivation. First, we stopped off at Twiggs coffee shop to buy a yogurt smoothie to share. The Twiggs we went to doesn’t have a drive through, and I didn’t think that would be a problem but Nolan threw a fit because he wanted all the yummy desserts in the window, and I kept redirecting him and trying to teach him how to stand in a line properly. When that failed, I picked him up and held him – and he protested. Sigh. We got out smoothie and got the heck out of dodge quickly. He was angry because he couldn’t have it in the car and had to wait until we got to the waterfront.

At the waterfront, he completely lost interest in the smoothie after a few sips and instead wanted to walk and go exploring. So we did just that! First we went to the park…

Then we decided to go play in the water. Nolan hated sand in his sandals and wasn’t a fan of walking barefoot in the really sandy areas. He much preferred the wet sand. At first, he wasn’t sure about the water, but soon enough he got comfortable and was wading in it, throwing sticks and twigs into the water.

It wasn’t busy at the waterfront at all, and we had a blast! We stayed for an hour and a half, then had to head home for lunch. Nolan was not thrilled about that part of our outing. He didn’t want to leave the slide and the water, and he hated that he had to wear his sandals with sandy feet. The entire drive home he complained about the sand in his shoes. “MOMMY! MY TOES! OH NO!” it was kind of adorable, even if he was screeching haha.

I think Nolan and I will make this waterfront outing a regular occurrence for us, especially in the morning. When we first arrived at the waterfront, the water was still and calm and there was hardly anyone there at all. It was so peaceful and relaxing, and fun!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in family, fun stuff, N, pictures, these are the moments, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sand Beneath Our Toes

  1. Hahaha, I almost don't blame him for being cranky! I don't like wet sand stuck in my shoes, either, and I'd definitely love to stay at the waterfront forever.

    And now I really want a smoothie. Heh.

  2. jessi ♥ says:

    @Elizabeth: I also freak out when there is sand in between my toes, I always have to wash my feet in the water immediately lol. He made Matt carry him when we went back after dinner…hilarious lmao

  3. Landon is so finicky about having his hands or feet dirty it's not even funny. His sister on the other hand completely loves to get dirty. Maybe Nolan's little brother will be the exact opposite of Nolan too!

  4. dramaticmama says:

    I love the pictures!!! 🙂 Too cute. ❤

  5. jessi ♥ says:

    @Danielle-Marie: Heh, maybe! We shall see!!!

    @Dramatic Mama: Thanks love!

Leave a Reply

