Lately

It feels like it’s been forever since I blogged (aside from the pregnancy update post) so I figured I’d fire off another one, with all the crazy updates that I have shockingly failed to report here on this blog.

For instance, I didn’t even whisper about the peeping Tom we had last week. YES! A peeping Tom. It was shortly after 9am, and Nolan and I were in the living room watching cartoons and I was talking to Matt on the phone. A movement outside our living room window caught my attention, and when I looked over there was an elderly man with his face literally pressed against our window, looking inside our living room with a surprised and nearly horrified expression on his face (probably because Nolan was in destruct-o mode, or perhaps because I was sitting on the couch).

I was so stunned, so stunned. I have never had someone stare into my house before. I was freaking out on the phone, and then he noticed I was on the phone and took off. I quickly closed the curtains and freaked out some more. Then I called the police to file a complaint. Not only was I worried about my son and I, but we live right beside a school yard. Sure, the guy could have been harmless and confused, but why take that risk? He more than likely was harmless and confused (because what legit peeping Tom peeps during broad daylight?!), but in any case…I called.

After the police took my statement, I decided to try and ease my anxiety and nerves by scrubbing the hell out of the windows and cleaning my house. So, at least some good came of it, right?!

Then the weekend happened. It wasn’t quite like I envisioned it.

 
Friday night, Matt and I dropped Nolan off at his brother’s house so we could go to S & M’s Stag and Doe. It was tons of fun, even if I couldn’t drink! S showed off his extremely awesome Backstreet Boys moves, and we got to hang out with a bunch of Matt’s friends we haven’t seen in a while. We left around 11 because I was sore from standing and didn’t want to keep Nat and Darren waiting for us (since we had to pick Nolan up).

I couldn’t fall asleep Friday night until 3am. Saturday, we were supposed to go to the property for the day. But…a lot of crap happened. Money, mostly. Matt’s truck has been acting up, and he still needs to order some parts for it. And our union gas bill came out of our account, and I forgot to factor it into the budget. So, our money to travel to the property was, well, gone. The weather was horrible, anyway, so we wouldn’t have gotten our beach day. So. Yeah. Fun times!

Sunday was a lazy day (aren’t they all lately!?) and today was pretty busy. In the morning, we went to Walmart and the Rogers store because my beautiful android has been acting up lately. They reset my software and it seems good to go now, hopefully I won’t have any trouble with it because I really do love my android. After our mall visit, I had to go to the disability offices to hand in some paperwork and while I was sitting in my car, some idiot backed right into my bumper, causing $200 worth of damage by the looks of it. I jumped out of my car, and they tried to drive off but I got their license plate number. When I got home, I called the police to report it. I was pissed. Nolan was in the car, and what if we had gotten hurt? Thankfully we didn’t, but you can’t go around bumping into people’s cars and drive away. This isn’t the local fair bumper car ride, and I can’t afford to fix other peoples’ stupidity.

The policeman was very nice and very helpful and apparently the douchebag who hit me is driving around with expired plates (and probably an expired license, by the look of him). He also reminded me to get my addresses changed on my car ownership and insurance, heh. I’ve been meaning to do that? So tomorrow, it looks like I’ll be doing that! Yay. I also need to get Nolan’s health card updated (and mine as well).

So, yeah. A random post about the happenings as of late!!! 

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in I don't really know, random, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lately

  1. I love that shirt on you!

    Peeping Toms are creepy, no matter how confused they are. And I hate when people drive off after hitting something! If it was just an accident, why not just take responsibility for it, or at least make sure the people in the car are okay!

    Grr. I hope the day got better!

  2. jessi ♥ says:

    @Elizabeth: Thanks! it's a dress though hehe ❤ from Suzy Sheer. And I KNOW! Bet you if he had just, you know, talked to me about it, gave me his contact info so Matt could assess damage and call him, then there would have been no issues.

  3. Holy criminal activity lately! Hit and run AND a peeping tom. I agree with Elizabeth, peeping toms are creepy regardless. Very glad to hear you and Nolan were fine after that idiot ran into you. Uuuugh, I have so many things to change my address for when we move. And name changes for when I get married. Soooo much work.

  4. jessi ♥ says:

    @Danielle-Marie: I think we moved to the wrong side of town?! LOL. Nah….just bad luck. I am finally almost all changed over! Just waiting on my new drivers license card and new insurance slip!

Leave a Reply

