These Times Are Hard

Every time I hear this song, it makes me want to smile and cry at the same time.

The last year has been a struggle; that’s for sure. With Matt in school full time, working part time and me staying at home with our son while accepting disability because that’s all I can do…it’s been hard. I don’t enjoy being on disability, but in order for us to have the bare minimum to live, I have no choice. I can’t physically do any jobs that are available to me with the experience I have. Even then, I’m overlooked often because of the large holes in my resume, and the “track record” I have for jobs. Three months, tops, because I can’t physically do any job I’ve landed. It’s ended up with me in bed crying tears of frustration because it shouldn’t be so hard to work a hostessing job. But it is, at least for me.

So, it’s been hard, but we’re doing it. Even if some months seem harder than others, we always manage to pull our heads up above water and float. Those months, we do tend to fight more. What couple doesn’t? When you’re stressed, your first subconscious response is to take it out on those close to you.

The other night, we stayed up late talking….watching the storm and just holding each other. We needed it. We needed to take that time and not stress about everything outside of our control. We needed to remember that the sweetest things in life are free, and worth fighting for.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in family, frustrations, life as I know it, love, these are the moments. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to These Times Are Hard

  1. My brain is too fuzzy right now for a “real” comment; all I can say is aww. ❤

  2. Miss Tricky says:

    I hear ya! On all counts.

  3. I love this post. “Remember that the sweetest things in life are free, and worth fighting for.” < --- PERFECT. Ryan and I have had our toughest times during financial struggle. Money is the root of all evil! All this week, we've been lucky that the kids have napped at the same time in the afternoon…Ryan's on midnights so we've spent that time laying in bed, cuddling, talking, or just dozing together. It's been needed for us too. My best friend is having major issues with her boyfriend. She asked me how I don't just call it quits with Ryan when we hit a rough patch. I said, “Three things. 1.) I love him. 2.) There are more good times than there are bad. 3.) The first two reasons are worth taking the risk of not knowing what lies ahead.

  4. jessi ♥ says:

    @Elizabeth Kaylene: haha thanks!

    @Miss Tricky: 🙂

    @Danielle-Marie: EXACTLY!!!! ❤ great advice!!!

Leave a Reply

