Pregnancy Update: 20 Weeks

We’ve reached the halfway point of this pregnancy, at long last! It feels like I’ve been pregnant forever already, and we still have 20 more weeks to go!

There doesn’t seem to be much of a difference in my belly this week verses last week, but according to Baby Center our little man now weighs about 10 and a half ounces and is roughly 6 1/2 inches long from head to rump: the length of a banana! He is practicing swallowing and he is developing meconium (that really nasty thick tar stuff that babies pass at birth). 

(Honestly, I love all the detail in the “what your baby looks like” images. So interesting to look at!)

Baby Center warns me that I should be gaining roughly a pound a week from here on in. That’s a scary though, another 20 pounds? Possibly more? I’m definitely going to be a beached whale by the end of this pregnancy. Sigh.

So, how am I feeling? Well…hormonal, exhausted, large, exhausted, and did I mention hormonal? And large? I still get nauseous every once in a while, but for the most part we’ve left the pukies behind. I’m entirely grateful for that, although I wish I had more energy.

OH, and my right boob has started to leak. Just the right one, not the left one. I leaked early with Nolan too, so I’m not too shocked or freaked out by this. It’s more or less one of those fun things to report to all you poor unsuspecting people 😉 I know, too much information haha. 

I know I’ve mentioned several times in the last little while that compiling a boys name list with Matt has been absolutely frustrating. And it was, but recently we’ve come to a few agreements and I’m proud to say that we now have several possibilities for our sweet baby boy’s name! We’re also in full agreement of the #1 name so that’s incredibly exciting! No, I won’t be sharing his name with anybody until he’s born, so you all have to wait 20 weeks (give or take) to find out!

I’m still planning his nursery, and I have a lot of ideas. I basically know what it’s going to look like, I’m just waiting to order his bedding online. I’m not going to go all out with a “theme” this time, but stick to a “colour scheme” instead. I’m going to have fun with it! I still haven’t decided if I want to bring the paper poms into his nursery (considering they aren’t really boy-ish) but we shall see. I’m excited to get started but I promised Matt I would wait until July or August to start buying/doing things since we have a lot on our plate right now and our to-do lists are already overflowing. But, the time will come soon enough! It should be easy peasy, considering I know everything that we’re going to be doing in his nursery.

Next week I’m going to try and get a full body photo of the belly. It’s very difficult to take a picture of yourself from head to toe and Matt has been so busy with work and school so I’ve just been taking the “belly shots” myself.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in boys, photos, pregnancy, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pregnancy Update: 20 Weeks

  1. dramaticmama says:

    You should invest in a tripod! Great creations!!! 🙂 Seriously. I took all my full body shots using that, or a dresser and just set a timer on my camera. 🙂 Or, classic “myspace” mirror picture. lmao.
    Glad the morning, er…all day sickness has gone away. 🙂

  2. I always loved using the Baby Center website in both pregnancies too. But I find it funny that they always compare the size of babies to some kind of produce. “Your baby is the size of a kumquat.” Haha. Kumquat. I'm excited to find out your baby names you've agreed on.

  3. Yay belly shot! That's really excited that you guys agreed on a name! I know it's scary to gain weight, but I'm sure you're loose it all nursing anyway.

Leave a Reply

