Pregnancy Update: Weeks 18 & 19

Since I spent the last 12 days with my family down south, away from my laptop (and wireless connection), I was unable to do my pregnancy update for week 18 and 19! The horror!

Anyway…Week 18:

According to Baby Center, our wee little nugget is 5 and a half inches long and weighs almost 7 ounces. Baby is busy flexing it’s arms and legs, which I have been feeling a lot – this baby is certainly more active than I remember Nolan being! Even Matt can feel this one’s movements, when he couldn’t feel Nolan’s until about 20 weeks. A protective covering of myelin is beginning to form around his/her nerves. If baby is a girl, her fallopian tubes are formed and in place. If it’s a boy, his boy parts are noticeable now.

What baby looks like during week 18:

 

How I felt {during week 18}: Well, to be honest? I don’t really remember. I was too busy visiting family and enjoying their company! I know I was tired, I know I had my moments of nauseousness. Hmm..I should have made notes haha! All I really remember about week 18 was coughing and legitimately peed my pants. Like, full out peed. It was classy. NOT. 

Week 19:

Baby Center says that baby’s sensory development is exploding, which I totally buy…considering the kid totally beats up my insides already. Apparently, her/his brain is designating special areas for smell, sight, taste, hearing, and touch. Pretty cool huh? Baby weighs about 8 and a half ounces and measures about 6 inches head to bottom (the size of a heirloom tomato). Baby’s arms and legs are proportionate to each other and the rest of his/her body. So basically, baby is looking less like an alien and more like a person 😉 Baby is also developing a waxy coating called “vernix caseosa” on the skin to prevent it from pickling in the amniotic fluid.

What baby looks like during week 19: 

How I’m feeling {week 19; aka now}; I’m feeling pretty good! Still have my nauseous moments, and I’m still pretty tired but today I was hit with a wickedly awesome energy spurt and managed to get a lot of stuff I’ve been putting off done. So that was pretty swell. This Friday, we are going for my 19th week ultrasound and hopefully we’ll be finding out what sex our little baby is. I’m totally stoked. Keep your fingers crossed that the baby shows us! Nolan didn’t, the only reason why we found out is because they didn’t get a measurement they were supposed to so I had to go back at 22 weeks.

So ya, YAY for baby!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in bump watch, photos, pregnancy, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pregnancy Update: Weeks 18 & 19

  1. Oh my goodness, this is going by so fast!! I cannot wait till Friday 😀 you look great!<3<3<3

  2. ALMOST HALFWAY! 🙂 So exciting.

  3. dramaticmama says:

    You look HUGE! 🙂 But the bigger the belly, the hotter…er…more good looking and cute preggo girls look. 🙂 lol.

  4. jessi ♥ says:

    @Cristy Muranda: haha it really is! I can't wait for Friday either. And thanks!

    @Danielle-Marie: Yup! One more week til I'm halfway there! 😀

    @Dramatic Mama: haha I keep hearing one or the other, either “you look HUGE” or “you look SO SMALL” 😐 it's confusing lol. I'm not sure what people expect me to look like at 19 weeks but I feel pretty good bahaha

Leave a Reply

