Wagon Rides & Sunshine

Today has been gorgeous. After Nolan woke up from his nap, we went for a walk around the block in his shiny new wagon, which he insisted on calling a “boat” the entire time. 
My mission was to check the mail and scoop out some parks. There are two parks 2 minutes away from us, but one is in a school yard (meaning we can’t use it during school hours), and the other is part of a different complex, so I’m not sure if non-tenants have access to it. When we got back to our house and sat on the front steps enjoying a snack, I started talking to one of the neighbors and he told me there was a huge park a couple blocks over: only a 10 minute walk away! 
I didn’t see it because Nolan and I were walking in the other direction, but this weekend we are so checking it out. Tomorrow, Nolan and I are going to the play group for a Mother’s Day tea, and I’m really excited. I’ll need to eat more before we go, because we always end up having to leave earlier than we want because I feel fainty and hungry by 10:30am. All the snacks I pack for me (note: a banana) end up in Nolan’s belly because he’d rather have what I’m eating.
Anyways, I definitely needed that walk. I’ve been a little stressed out over the last few days. This move ended up costing more than I anticipated. But, it’s totally worth it. We are so incredibly happy with our new home! I didn’t realize how confining our old, cramped apartment really was until we moved here. Now it’s like a huge weight has been lifted off my shoulders, and I can breathe easier and relax. This place feels more like home than our last place did – probably because the landlords don’t come in and talk about how they would have decorated things. 
So, in any case, Nolan and I had fun on our walk and playing out front. I want to get a rack and clean up a bit more, the wind storm we had Sunday night moved a lot of garbage around. YUCK. This weekend I’m going to make Matt get rid of all the cobwebs in the garage and around the windows outside, so that it looks cleaner. Cobwebs creep me out, and so do spiders so Matt will be going on a serious kill the spiders spree. I’m excited because this month we’re getting a new front door with ventilation and having our garage door painted, so the front of our house will get a face lift along with all the other tenants and we don’t have to pay for it! Bonus to renting, for sure. 
So, ya…how was your Thursday?!
About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in fun stuff, N, photos, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wagon Rides & Sunshine

  1. Okay, so those have GOT to be the cutest pictures of Nolan ever! He is SUCH a little charmer. And “boat”… how cute is that?! Were you cracking up to entire time? LOL.

    So glad you found a playground close by and hope it's a good one when you check it out this weekend. Playgrounds are essential with little ones. LOL. I know it's stressful now. Moving is SO stressful! Maybe that's why I haven't moved since I had Aiden. But at least you'll have things settled and figured out before baby #2 gets here.

  2. jessi ♥ says:

    @Alicia: haha you should see the set I'm editing now! 😛 I did die laughing when he started calling it a boat, lol. I hope it's a good one too! The move was essential, we didn't have enough space 😦 I'm glad it's over now.

  3. RED is SOOOOO Nolan's colour!
    Now that we've got that out of the way lol…
    Why is it that toddlers only want what you're eating?! Landon's the exact same way.
    Glad you're happy in your new home. Unforeseen expenses always seem to come with a move but as you said, it's definitely worth it in the end! 🙂

  4. jessi ♥ says:

    @Danielle-Marie: I love him in red! I have no idea why they only want what we're eating. But literally, I made us tuna sandwiches. I put lettuce on mine, and cheese on his (cause he asked for cheese). He wouldn't eat his sandwich and only wanted mine!! Practically the same damn thing lol.

Leave a Reply

