The Move

I’m still waiting on the Cogeco guy to come and set up our services, but I can pick up a wireless signal from someone on our street so I’ve decided to take advantage of that since I’m going rather insane trying to wait for our services to be hooked up haha. I’m not usually for stealing connections off other people, but honestly I’ve had enough of Bob the Builder DVDs and unpacking for the moment: I need this break!

I’ve already taken a bunch of pictures, but I’ll do room posts to follow this one. I wanted to blog about the moving day, Sunday, first and foremost.

Remember how I said our old landlord told her new tenant to come get the keys and move in at 9am, when we didn’t get our keys until 8am that same morning? Matt was confident we’d be able to do it all within the hour, since we thought we were having tons of help. We were supposed to have the help of Matt’s dad in his truck, as well as Matt’s friend from school in his truck, and Matt’s brother – who also has a truck. With Matt’s truck, that would have been four trucks, four loads etc. Double the man power. In addition, more of Matt’s friends who didn’t have trucks were supposed to be there helping load and unload. I bought a shit ton of donuts and muffins thinking we’d have all these mouths to feed. However, Matt’s friends and dad didn’t show up, so it was just Matt and his brother. Obviously it took them way longer to do everything. When the new tenant arrived at 9am to unload his stuff and get his keys, we still had five loads to do.

Landlord was all air-headish and mentioned to my BIL that “maybe she should have waited until the 2nd” to let the new guy move in. No kidding. She was trying to clean up and do her inspection as we were moving out, and when we had a few loads left to do she allowed the new tenant to move in. By that point, we just wanted to get the heck out of dodge.

I was mostly at the new house, cleaning and trying to organize stuff. I spent most of my time unpacking most of the kitchen stuff. It was horrible because I couldn’t pick up or move a lot of the boxes to make room for the new stuff. Again, it would have been nice if all the people who volunteered showed up but whatever – it’s done and I’m honestly not ticked about it. Stuff happens, it just kinda sucked for us. It would have been fine if we didn’t feel pressure to move so quickly, on account of the new tenant waiting with all his stuff to move in. Luckily though, it didn’t rain! It was very windy though.

Matt and his brother finished moving all our stuff in around noon, then I went to go pick up Nolan from my SIL’s house because they had company coming over.

Our first night was amazing. We all slept so amazingly! Matt and I didn’t know what to do with all the room in our bedroom, our around us. There is so much space here, it’s ridiculous!

So yeah, there you have it. The move was pretty stressful but it’s over and done with and I couldn’t be happier. Matt’s happier too, as is Nolan. Even Sketch is stoked about the new place!

Stay tuned for the grand tour! Keep in mind we’re still unpacking/organizing. We also have a lot of furniture to buy, there’s just too much space to fill!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in day to day stuff, frustrations, fun stuff, good times, moving, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Move

  1. I still can't get over your old landlord. At least you're rid of her. And there won't be any more late night visits from her, dropping off cake and balloons. As if she let herself in like that!

  2. jessi ♥ says:

    @Danielle-Marie: I know. Yesterday, she sent me an email asking me to go to coffee group because “Nolan needs to interact more with other kids”. Gee thanks for telling me how to parent? (I didn't go, haha. I can't really afford to shell out an unnecessary $5 a week when I could go to the EYC play groups for free. Plus I had to wait for Cogeco today!)

Leave a Reply

