Notes to Nolan: On Your Second Birthday

Dear Nolan;

Today, my sweet boy, you are officially two years old. This is incredibly exciting and awesome! Your Daddy, Grampa Dan and I have planned a fantastic birthday bash for you at Grampa’s house. I’m so excited to watch you play with your cousin Xander and visit with your Aunties and Uncles, your Great Granny and Papa, and your Nana Kim and Grandpa Kent. It’s been so long since we’ve seen them all! I know, you have a ridiculous amount of grandparents but trust me: you are lucky in that department!

I’m so proud of you, my boy! Every single day you amaze me with your intelligence and sense of humor. Just the other day, we were eating breakfast and you farted (I know, I know, I’m embarrassing you aren’t I?). I said “Ooh! Stinky!” and you looked at me and said “No, MOMMY stinky!” I laughed until I was blue in the face! You constantly crack me up with your funny little sayings. “I have an itchy bum!” “Uhoh, I tooted,” and “Oh dear!” are my favourite funny phrases from you.

Each week that passes, you add several more words to your vocabulary. You love to colour, you literally do a happy dance and squeal with excitement when I break out the crayons and paper. You’re generally really great with other kids too, although you tend to put up a bit of a fight every Tuesday morning when we go to coffee group. But once you get in the play room, you’re good to go! I’m forever receiving compliments about how smart, funny and adorable you are.

You are my brave little man, my fighter. But you still love to cuddle up your mom and pops. You give the greatest hugs and the best kisses. You love watching cars, trucks, and any other kind of vehicle.

If you’re wondering how I’m holding up today, on your birthday, well…I can’t really say. I’ve had to write this post ahead of time and schedule it because I won’t be near a computer until we get home. I’m thinking about it right now though, and truthfully, I am a little sad that my baby boy is growing up so quickly, but I’m looking forward to this age. You’re such a remarkable, sweet little boy, I just know that this year will be just as great as the two!

Tons of birthday kisses and love to you, my darling!

xoxo
Mommy

* * * *

P.S We should be back home Sunday afternoon, and I will definitely be posting tons of pictures from our little visit down south, and of my beautiful birthday boy!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Notes to Nolan: On Your Second Birthday

  1. Happy Birthday Nolan! Have a wonderful day 🙂

  2. Tamara says:

    Happy Birthday to Nolan!!

    and as my grandma always says “it's as much the parents day as it is the kid's day, because without the parent, the kid wouldn't be here to have a birthday” so I hope you all have a great day 🙂

  3. Happy birthday Nolan!!! two is a great age to be my friend!

  4. Sarah says:

    Happy Birthday Nolan! Hope it's a wonderful weekend for ya Momma! 🙂

  5. Karen S in Oz says:

    Happy 2nd Birthday Nolan. Have a fantastic day 🙂

Leave a Reply

