False

Two years ago, on this very day of April 20th, I went into false labor. My dad drove me to the hospital and everything. That was my first indication that Nolan probably wasn’t going to wait until May to make his appearance!

Low and behold, not even three days later he was brought into this world (via c-section). I’ll never forget how scared I was on April 20th, 2009. I was so nervous! I knew I would get a c-section no matter what (little guy was breech and they didn’t even want to try flipping him on account of my bleeding disorder), but I was supposed to somehow make it to Toronto to deliver him, since the local hospitals close to where I lived were not prepared to handle a high risk delivery.

One of my biggest fears was that I’d go into labor before my scheduled c-section, and that I’d end up in serious trouble stuck on the Don Valley Parkinglot. It’s a valid fear, when you think about it.

But Nolan was not destined to come into this world on April 20th, thank goodness for that, and the contractions I was feeling were considered “false labor”. Aka: I panicked when I wasn’t even in labor. But can you blame me? Visions of laboring on the Don Valley Parkinglot haunted my dreams! Plus if I was in the early stages of labor, I needed to know immediately so I could somehow get to Toronto before the kid needed to be born.

So ya, I thought I’d share that interesting tidbit of the final days of my pregnancy with Nolan. However, my friend Danielle (from Mama Dee) is celebrating her baby boy’s 2nd birthday today!!! I can only imagine how she’s feeling right now. One seemed like an achievement to me, we made it to one year. That’s awesome! I didn’t screw up the first year! Two is just so much more harder to take, because at least you could consider your one year old a baby still. Your two year old is a legit toddler.

I’m going to love this year as much as I loved the last two years with Nolan, every age and stage is exciting, but I know I’ll be an emotional, crying mess on Saturday when my sweet boy wakes up a year older. It’s an indication that the time is just billowing past me and that I’ll soon be celebrating his 16th birthday. Hopefully that won’t come as quickly as I fear! I wish I could slow down time, just a bit.

In other news, it’s a damn blizzard outside and I am not impressed in any way shape or form. We’re supposed to get 15 inches of show today. Needless to say, Nolan and I will be hiding out inside – probably in our PJs. I’m weeping, because last year for Nolan’s birthday it was sunny and beautiful and warm.

No worries, I’m still going to do Easter crafts and treats with Nolan this afternoon. It’s the perfect day for that. I’m pretty excited about it, I know he’ll have a blast and I’m pretty stoked to eat the treats!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in day to day stuff, good times, mama love, memories, N. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to False

  1. Miss Anarchy says:

    I went into labor on 4/20/03, but my son was born on 4/21/03. I thought it would have been cool to have 420 as a birthday – hehe.

    Kids birthdays are hard. They want so much to group up, but we want then to stay little.

  2. That's exactly how I feel! Landon is truly a toddler now. But I think I'll still refer to him as “the baby” for a while. I can't help it. I don't know if I'm more emotional this year because he's 2 instead of 1. Last year I was pretty emotional but that could be due to the fact that I was also pregnany by Landon's first birthday.

    False labour is scary…especially when there can be potential complications! It happened to me with Landon too. It's hard to decipher true labour between false labour when it's your first time around. You just don't know how much it's supposed to hurt when contractions first begin and then like you said, you're afraid if you put off going to the hospital for too long you'll end up in trouble.

Leave a Reply

