To Be Prepared

When I was pregnant with Nolan, we were definitely not prepared. If it weren’t for our family and friends, and the amazing baby shower my sisters and cousin threw me, we would have had nothing for Nolan! During the early days of our relationship, we were pretty horrible with budgeting and saving. I thought our money should go to paying off some of the debt we had accumulated, and we definitely rushed out and got an apartment a little too soon too.

That’s why it’s super important to me for us to be super prepared for this baby. I have a budget set up so that we’re constantly saving money. By October, we will have everything the baby needs and more. I’ve basically picked out the bedding I want, and will order it once I know what sex this little baby is. I want to buy white furniture if it’s a girl, and dark brown if it’s a boy.

I’m definitely on Matt more this time, last time I totally thought we had forever. 9 months does seem like a long time, but it definitely went by quickly and before I knew it we were in the crunch time!

I’m 14 weeks today, and I’m already thinking about the nursery! I want to do an owl theme for this baby, be it a girl or a boy. I love the idea of paper poms too! I’m so eager to get started, but holding off until I find out what this little miracle is 🙂

*~*~*
As of today, there are 5 days left until we travel to my dad’s house, 6 days until Nolan’s 2nd birthday, and 14 days until moving day! I’m incredibly excited about this all. Even if I haven’t started packing yet…I KNOW RIGHT?! Can’t pack without boxes, still waiting for my darling husband to pick them up. Luckily we don’t have an overwhelming amount of stuff and with the two of us working hard, it should be no problem. 
Nolan’s birthday cake has been ordered (THANKS KIM!), and his presents have basically all been bought. I’m just waiting until we get down south so I can hit up a local Carter’s for clothes. My town only has Walmart, Zellers and Baby Gap. Baby Gap has some cute stuff but not within our budget, and Walmart and Zellers’ selections suck. I want to go to Carters and H&M for Nolan’s birthday clothes. I also have to grab a few decorations.
I still need to buy Easter stuff. The Easter bunny will be visiting us down south this year! Nolan will get to have his first ever Easter egg hunt. So exciting!
Sunday is going to be another lazy day for us. Matt works at noon, and the weather isn’t supposed to be great either (it was snowing when we woke up. SIGH.) I’ve basically been spending this weekend catching up on laundry and cleaning. If ONLY I had boxes, then I could start packing…humbug.
About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in excitement, I don't really know, N, plans, random, thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To Be Prepared

  1. Good for you for wanting to be prepared this time. We weren't prepared for Landon OR Hannah. And I didn't feel like I could accept the help for Hannah because we had just received so much help for Landon like 16 months earlier. So when people offered to throw me a second baby shower I said no because I felt guilty. I love my Hannah soooo much but I wish we would have waited until Landon was 2 before having another baby.

    I love Carter's too! Best. Store. Ever.

    What are you guys getting Nolan for his big bday? Landon's 2 on Wednesday.

  2. jessi ♥ says:

    @Danielle-Marie: I firmly believe that children choose when to come 🙂 lol. I can't imagine how hard it must have been though! I don't want a second shower either. I got so much help with Nolan that it really wouldn't be fair! Besides, we're in a WAY better position to have a baby now, and we can afford it.

    Nolan's presents from us are a Plasma car (totally awesome), a Melissa & Doug train, a Thomas & Friends backpack, and clothes (which I'll get on the weekend haha). I can't believe that, this time next week, we'll both have TWO YEAR OLDS.

Leave a Reply

