Potty Training…

I’m still very new to this whole potty training deal. We’ve only been having naked, sit on the potty time for two days now. But I’m wondering if I’m going about this the wrong way?

Right now, Nolan is using a frog potty. He has a potty seat but doesn’t like to sit on the big toilet and use it. He’s scared of the big toilet, and frankly there isn’t much to do in our bathroom other than try and get into the toilet paper. He prefers to use the frog potty because it can go out in the living room and he can continue to play. Seriously, yesterday I watched him build a tower out of mega blocks while he sat on his potty!

I’ve heard conflicting reports from other moms about using a potty instead of the potty seat on the toilet. Mainly, I hear you have to re-train them to use the toilet/potty seat. Personally, I don’t think Nolan would be confused by it, and I don’t think I’d have to retrain him. He knows that mommy and daddy use the big potty. He sometimes sits on it but never for very long because he doesn’t like being that high up. I seem to have better luck with the frog potty, he’ll sit on it for the entire half hour. He knows how to get on and off it by himself.

My instinct is telling me to keep doing what we’re doing. Nolan enjoys going over to his potty and sitting on it, he loves peeing in the potty. Sure, we still have tons of accidents but he’s still learning the concept so I’m not too worried. Tonight, he even pooped in the potty! Of course, he was super upset about it because he still thinks it’s bad to poop outside his diaper. Poor kid haha. We cheered him on for pooping in the potty and gave him treats and kisses and hugs. Hopefully he won’t be so upset next time πŸ˜›

But I am second guessing myself – because isn’t that what we, as moms, do often? Or I do anyway. I’m second guessing if he’s ready. Yeah, he tells us when he pees and when he poops, he asks for his “froggy potty” whenever it’s not in the same room as us. My instinct is telling me he’s ready for this first step, but hey…instincts aren’t always right, are they?

I’m also wondering how often/long you’re supposed to “train” them. Right now, we do about half an hour of naked potty time. He sits on the potty, pees twice and today even pooped (yesterday, you’ll recall he pooped on my carpet). I’m wondering if I should be keeping the diaper off him all day when he’s awake and letting him use the potty all day long? Or do you slowly wean into the whole potty training deal?Β 

If you have any potty training tips, feel free to share them! I want to make this process quick if I can. It’d be nice to have Nolan potty trained by October. (*Not saying I’m going to push him if he isn’t ready, he SEEMS ready, hells he’s already gone in his potty several times!).Β 
Β Β 

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in parenthood, photos, potty training, questions. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Potty Training…

  1. Sweetie, I believe that you're right-on-track. Trust your instincts because you're one smart Mama!

    I'd continue to allow Nolan to be nekkid and use the frog potty. My younger son — it's his birthday *week* and he'll be TWENTY-SIX this Sunday.

    I get distracted, but anyway, he was terrified of toilets because he was convinced he would be “sucked into the vortex”. Yes, they get ideas even at a very early age.

    Do what you need to do to encourage Nolan, but don't push him. It's just not worth it.

  2. Miss Anarchy says:

    Around 2 I started taking my son in the bathroom everytime I went, so he got use to the sounds and that it was normal. Once he was use to it, I bought a seat and after I went, he would sit on the potty seat. Then I would take him to sit every hours or so even if he didn't go. But we made a helluva big deal if he did. He eventually started there more and more. Once he was pretty good at telling me he had to go we switched to pull ups during the day and diapers at night. Then eventually pull ups all the time, then nothing.

    Different kids take different lengths of time to potty train. Don't rush him cause it will back fire.

  3. throw cherrios in the toilet and tell him to shoot the UFO's! that's how my mom PT my little brothers.

  4. ALSO are boys ever really potty trained LOL ;0)

  5. Donna says:

    You might be a young mommy but you have more common sense than a lot of “old” mommies. I know second guessing yourself is normal for any mother but I'm telling you right now, your son couldn't ask for a better, more loving mommy.

    You keep doing what you think is right and is working for you and him. It sounds to me like you are currently doing just the right thing.

    Every kid is different, Ashley wasn't fully trained until she was 3 and that required bribery with Barbie undies. Amber trained pretty much instantly. We told her she wasn't going to have diapers anymore and she had two accidents and that was it.

    He won't need to be “re-trained” whatever that is. They get it. He sees what mommy and daddy do and he'll do the same.

    I'm glad I found this site because I love your life πŸ™‚ I really do. You are a joy to watch as you grow with your little family.

  6. Karen S in Oz says:

    I have no tips but you are doing an awesome job Jess.

  7. Life as Leah says:

    Sounds like you are doing a great job!! My son is currently refusing to use the potty, period! I would keep following your instincts, because every child is different and needs a different approach to potty training. Try not to take too much stock in all the 'potty training advice' that is out there, because there are so many ways to go about potty training that you really just have to choose the path that is right for your little one-and who knows what approach he responds to the best better than his own mother-You! good luck!

  8. This post is most helpful for me, since potty training is coming up fast for Landon too. It sounds to me like you have a pretty good idea of what you're doing. Keep up the good work!

  9. @Geeky Tai-Tai: Thank you πŸ™‚ I definitely won't be pushing him, besides I wouldn't be upset if he was still in diapers for a while longer πŸ™‚ since he asks for his potty so much, I figured why not?

    @Miss Anarchy: He isn't afraid of the flushing sound (except in public washrooms, because it's louder and echos), it's the height of the toilet. He's not so cool with sitting up so high lol. No worries, I'm not planning on pushing him πŸ™‚

    @Rebeckah: Nolan's still too short for that lol! But when he's bigger, for sure!!

    @Donna: awwh thank you! That made my day πŸ™‚ hehe.

    @Karen S: awwh thanks! <3

    @Life as Leah: That's very true! Very helpful advice hehe. Thanks!

    @Danielle-Marie: I'm glad I could help you too haha! Thanks ❀

  10. dramaticmama says:

    Yeah, I agree with Danielle-Marie! I am looking at this post for tips/ideas, even though I will most like just bbm you. lmao. πŸ˜›

    I love that potty!

Leave a Reply

