Pregnancy Update: 13 Weeks

The bump this week:

What baby looks like this week:

[image via Baby Center]
Quite remarkable, isn’t it? During my first ultrasound, our sweet little baby looked like a little jelly bean (or an alien, as Matt says). In last week’s ultrasound, s/he looked like a tiny human being. I can’t get over the difference just a few short weeks makes!
This week, baby’s fingerprints have formed on his/her tiny finger tips, his/her veins are visable through still-thin skin, and his/her body is starting to catch up with his/her head!
Baby is nearly 3 inches long and weighs nearly an ounce!
I’m excited because this is my last week of the first trimester 🙂
I’m hoping this means I’ll be seeing less of the porcelain throne and that even a quarter of my energy will return to me 😉
Which brings me to the How I Feel segment of this week’s pregnancy update:
♥ I’m still feeling quite nauseous more often than not. My “severe” nausea time has seemed to switch from first thing into the morning to right before dinner, which sucks just as much. 
♥ I can now force myself to eat breakfast in the morning – just toast is all I can stomach, but still.
♥ Decaf tea in the morning makes me barf without fail. So do soda crackers.
♥ I am rather bashful and embarrassed of my sticky-out belly button. It certainly gets a lot of attention, since it sticks out as if to say OH HAIII! I IS PREGNANT! I love when people notice I’m pregnant, but when all they can talk about is how my belly button is already right out there like an awkward, um, boner…ya. It’s awkward!
♥ I am still super over emotional and snappy. I cry at the lamest things, tear up at everything else, and flip out like a 2 year old when something doesn’t go my way. It’s awesome. Good thing my husband loves me!
♥ I’ve been having a lot of ta-ta pain, but these puppies have been growing like weeds since the moment we conceived. They’re going to be massive by the time this kid arrives and when I’m breastfeeding.
♥ Along with bigger bewbies comes way more back pain. Sigh. 
So, ya, that’s how we’re doing this week! Nolan still likes to kiss my belly but I’m really not all that sure he understands that a real baby is in there growing and will one day soon be popping out and crying up a storm. 
I am nervous that he won’t adjust well when the baby arrives, but I plan on doing everything in my power to make sure he doesn’t feel left out or cast aside. Plus his sibling is so getting him a wicked present, just because. I’m thinking train station table?! Yeah, Nolan’s sib rocks already.
So yeah: that’s the weekly pregnancy update! April will be sure to keep me busy, and before I know it, it will be May! 
I suppose I can start saying I’m three months pregnant, huh? 

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in photos, pregnancy, updates, what's up in my uterus. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pregnancy Update: 13 Weeks

  1. So exciting! I'm also snappy and emotional, but I'm not pregnant. 🙂

  2. jessi ♥ says:

    @Grumpy Grateful Mom: hehe thanks! 😀

  3. Landon adjusted very well to having a sibling and since our boys seem to very alike, I'm thinking Nolan will adjust well too!

    Ahh pregnancy…I don't miss being overly emotional or the cravings that just won't go away but I do miss when people noticed my pregnancy. I think sticky-outy belly buttons are cute!

  4. i love your pregnant belly SO MUCH.

    <3 <3

Leave a Reply

