Tea, Bagels, and Bullies.

Another night spent staying up way too late watching Spartacus with Matt. Honestly, why is that show so addictive?! It’s totally horrible on my stomach, of course, but I love the writing and the story lines and the characters and everything. It’s probably the best show I’ve seen in a while. Sorry Vampire Diaries, I mostly watch you for the sexy Damon…haha.

Anyway, I’m paying for it. Again. But we’ve started season 2 – Gods of the Arena and it’s pretty good. I think I like Blood and Sand better, but yeah. Still super awesome!!

I’m unwinding for the moment by stealing a few moments to blog and sip a cup of tea. I’ve managed to get down half a bagel, so we’ll see if it stays. Here’s hoping.

Today will be spent with me cleaning the house in sloth like movement. I’m slow and tired, but the place needs to be cleaned since there is a showing at 6pm tonight. Sigh. Hopefully she picks someone soon, there have been A LOT of people interested so the selfish, lazy part of me is all whinny wondering why she can’t just choose one of the several that have already been to view it. I know she wants to give everyone who responds an equal chance though.

We’ve submitted our application to the property management company, and we are at the top of the list for a townhouse! We were approved last time for another one of their properties so I’m hoping that we’ll be approved again. In the meantime…I’m going to take a chill pill and just enjoy the sunshine we’ve had the last few days. Not that it’s any warmer here, but sun is good. Maybe they’ll open the parks soon! One can only hope.

One of my good Twitter friends has been the target of some Internet bullying. It really frustrates me. Partly because I’m naive and believe that once we leave the halls of high school, we should leave the days of being bullied (or bullying) behind us. But I guess immaturity never ceases. I guess the bullies just get older and rounder and balder and more pathetic in their attempts to relive the “glory days”. I want to ask these bullies why they bully. Do they feel that inadequate with their lives? Is jealousy a huge factor? Does someone bully them daily? Do they realize that there are other ways of dealing with their issues, instead of projecting anger out on other people for silly petty things? Do they care that they are setting horrible examples for the children in their lives?

The worst bullies are the ones who are super nice to everyone but a select few. It’s like high school all over again, only worse because it’s somehow more pathetic for them to do it on the Internet. There should be one safe place where we can all come and have conversations and debates without being bullied or ridiculed.

But it’s a headdesk motion. The bullies will keep bullying, no matter what you say or don’t say. And they’ll keep getting under your skin, because they have a great talent in that. I still can’t help but dream of a world where bullies put their energies to better use; to bettering the world and lifting up the people around them. In my opinion, nothing feels better than lifting someone’s spirits. If I accidentally snap at someone, I feel bad and guilty and even worse than before. But if I lift someone’s spirits up, make their day in some small or big way, I feel better in general. It’s simple, really.

Well, to me anyway.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in bullies, rambling, rants, scribbles, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

