Don’t be a drag just be a queen.

SO, I’m getting really frustrated with the amount of “trolls” out there. Not that I’ve ever encountered one first hand, but seeing the way these “trolls” treat friends of mine or other bloggers that I like makes me feel sick. I just don’t get it…I really don’t. Why such hatred? Towards people you don’t even know? Why hide behind a computer screen and spew nasty things from your finger tips, with the desire to hurt someone? I just don’t understand why people would intentionally want to be mean.

I get it, we all have bad days. I have a lot of them. I’m a big grump more often then I’m not. But I would never, ever hurt someone purposely or be mean to somebody. It’s just not my style. If I don’t agree with how someone is presenting themselves; I don’t say anything. If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all. DUH.

I get it, sometimes life is hard. Sometimes, people are bitter and unhappy. But if you’re so bitter and unhappy you find yourself projecting your bitterness and unhappiness on other people…then something is seriously wrong. Something has to give. I’m a firm believer in the fact that if you aren’t happy, do something to change it. Obviously, something is contributing to that unhappiness. A job? A bad relationship? It’s time to move on. Get a job that you love, or can at least tolerate better, and ditch the bad relationship. It’s easier said than done, believe me I know. For some reason, people like to hang on to things that drag them down because its easier than jumping into the unknown. I hate the unknown, but if my job was making me that miserable, or if someone in my life was, to the point that I’m being a huge asshole to innocent people in a misguided attempt to make myself feel better…I just wouldn’t stick around. But I know, it’s not always that simple…there are circumstances that are way harder than I could ever imagine, but still. Why be so cruel to other people? Why take it out on them?

I’m mostly talking about the people who hide behind semi-anonymous twitter accounts, @ing the people they don’t even know and insulting them just because. What’s the point? But I’m also talking about the random assholes in public.

Like this lady today. I had to go to the medical clinic and get a signature. So I parked in the handicapped parking spot, because I am handicapped. I have a chronic pain disability, I can’t walk long distances, ESPECIALLY with the extra weight of carrying Nolan. A lady pulled into the spot beside mine, then promptly backed out in a huff and pulled up to the “drop off” area to help her elderly mom (or friend) out of the car. As I was getting out of my car, she hollered over in the rudest voice ever with a death glare that could have killed (if, you know, looks could kill) and said “You better have a sticker!”

“Um, I do thanks.” was my response, because guess what? I do. I’m not some asshole who steals the handicap parking spot when I don’t need it. Hell, if I’m not with Nolan I’ll even park further away and walk the extra distance (despite later punishment) to allow for someone else to have the parking spot. But when I’m with him, it’s super hard on my hips to carry him and walk. So. Yeah. If I stand a chance in running errands, doing the shopping or whatever, I need to park close.

I ushered the kids into the medical clinic and waited in line with a bunch of other people, struggling to hold Nolan (since he has this nasty habit of running away) while my hips screamed in protest (kid is getting HEAVY, his listening skills better set in soon). But I waited, in the line up. Because that’s what you do. And that lady came in, cut in front of us all and walked up to the second window that had just been vacated before the woman in front of me (waiting in the line up) could go over. And she tossed me another super dirty look. I bite my tongue, I didn’t say anything I wanted to. I wanted to tell her that the line was right here, but since she looked like such a rude person, I didn’t think that’d go over well. I’m not one to cause scenes. Plus, she wasn’t worth it. And yeah, she could have been having a bad day, there could be stuff in her life that sucks super bad. But I still don’t think that’s a good reason (or excuse) to be outright rude and mean to people you don’t even know.

Unfortunately, because I’m young and don’t “fit the bill”, I get reactions like that a lot on the days I park in the handicapped parking spots. And it sucks. I already feel bad enough for needing to park there, but to have to argue with people I don’t even know? I’m trying not to let it bother me. If they care so much, they can look at my sticker on the dashboard and stuff it. But still, nothing puts a damper on running errands like rude people!

And that wasn’t even the worst experience I’ve had with a stranger encounter. Read this post I wrote (on my old blog) about the random rude pedestrian outside of Tim Hortons. THAT was a fun day. 

Really though, why is it so hard for most of the population to be nice? I smile at strangers, I’m nice to people I don’t know. I don’t think it’s difficult or awkward. 

Ugh. Thoughts? Have you ever encountered a totally rude person, online or in real life, that literally made your jaw drop?

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

