6 Weeks & Other Updates

This is the belly at 6 weeks and one day {last night}. Holy crud. I’m still “small”, I know, but considering I was this big at 16ish weeks with Nolan…I consider myself to be pretty massive!!! I know, basically none of that is baby {bloating, etc}, but still. It’s noticeable! Little notification I got from Baby Center on Sunday:


“If you could see into your uterus, you’d find an oversize head and dark spots where your baby’s eyes and nostrils are starting to form. His emerging ears are marked by small depressions on the sides of the head, and his arms and legs by protruding buds. His heart is beating about 100 to 160 times a minute — almost twice as fast as yours — and blood is beginning to course through his body. His intestines are developing, and the bud of tissue that will give rise to his lungs has appeared. His pituitary gland is forming, as are the rest of his brain, muscles, and bones. Right now, your baby is a quarter of an inch long, about the size of a lentil.”
I’m definitely feeling nauseous, hard core in the mornings and sometimes late at night! But I’ve yet to toss my cookies. It will happen sooner rather than later, especially if hubs keeps forgetting to change the cat box and help me with dishes.

Things that set off my nausea are: the cat box {ew!}, turkey, the diaper pail, old food, the garbage pail, talk of egg snots or other such disgusting thing, EGGS, hard noodles {when they should be SOFT}, my husband’s reeking ass. I’m still good to change a fresh dirty diaper of Nolan’s {in fact, I gag less than Matt!}, but if it’s in the pail and been there for a while…holy sweet baby Jesus.

Things I crave often: I still think cravings aren’t necessarily “pregnancy related”, as I’ve always had cravings even when I’m NOT pregnant but anywho: Lately I always want pasta, ice cream, ice cream sandwiches, carrots, grilled cheese and bacon sandwiches and pickles {I know, how cliche!}.

I’m tired all the time still, but I’m learning how to cope with it. I’ve accepted the fact that I must nap at least once a day, when Nolan sleeps. If I don’t, it’s just bad for everyone in the house. My house duties have been put on the back burner, but at least I can put Matt to work {for the most part}.

Plus, my boobs are getting huge. I’m actually afraid of how big they’re going to be, if they’re already so huge now.

So, that’s mostly it for the “pregnancy updates”.

This morning a delivery guy arrived with a pretty little package from Blaine! Matt never gets any packages in the mail, so I let him open it and the entire time he pulled these cute little pink GIRLY things out, he was saying “oh no, no no no no!” lmao.

Matt is still convinced we are having another boy. Because Matt is convinced it’s a boy, I’m convinced it’s a girl. When it comes to guessing baby genders, Matt is ALWAYS wrong. He was convinced Nolan was a girl {when I knew from the get-go he was a boy}, and he thought Shannon {my sister} was going to have a girl too {Xander is VERY much a boy}. So I’ve learned to bet against him! But no worries, if this baby turns out to be a boy, I’ll still be just as happy. I guess that’s the cool thing about being wrong about guessing baby’s gender: either way you get an awesome, adorable little baby so who cares who is right or wrong?! {I actually care, just a little. I wanna rub it in his face, just a bit, haha!}

Also in the package: some body butter and chapstick that Blaine’s aunt made! I’ve already tested out the chapstick and my my MY is it delicious! I’ll try the body butter once I’m done writing this blog post up 🙂

We also went to coffee group, and I actually dressed up!

Aren’t my boobs massive?!? Like, I already have to stuff them into my bra!!

Nolan was super grumpy this morning. He’s feeling a little under the weather still, and he made that perfectly clear. We had a mini-melt down before we left for coffee group because Nolan wanted a danish and I wouldn’t let him have it {it’s not exactly a healthy morning snack, plus the danishes were for coffee group}. Still, he’s super cute even when he’s being a total fusspot. He loves that sweater, any time I dress him in it he loves to run out to people and point at the dinosaur and say RAWR! So cute!

Coffee group was fun, it was good to get out of the house for a bit. Next time I need to remember to bring slippers…my feet were so cold!! Since it’s winter, we take our outdoor shoes off so we don’t track water, dirt and snow every where. But I always forget to bring indoor shoes.

After coffee group, I decided that we should go out on a lunch date. We grabbed some lunch at the little 50s diner I used to work at. One of my old work friends was there and we chatted during her down time, it was pretty fun. Except that, again, my pregnancy food aversions kicked in and I wanted nothing to do with the gravy on my fries. Usually I love that diner’s gravy! At least Nolan enjoyed his lunch though!

When we got home, it was nap time for both of us! I couldn’t even stand to be in my living room or kitchen. Someone forgot to change the cat box {cough MATT cough}. I needed the nap anyway. When I woke up, I quickly grabbed a snack {a tomato and cheese sandwich!} then cleaned the kitchen and cat box. No worries, Sketch is an indoor cat so the risk of toxoplasmosis is very low. Not to mention: I don’t make a habit of it. Matt usually does it, but he forgot and I just could not wait until 5:30pm when he got home. I couldn’t breathe! My cat stinks so much. Matt will be angry that I did it, but at least he’ll make a habit of cleaning it twice a day here on in because he won’t want me touching it again.

So that has been our day thus far! We might all go to the mall tonight so I can get my eyebrows waxed {they seriously need it} and so Matt can deposit his cheque. Plus I’m not in a cooking mood. I hate raw food and don’t want to touch it OR look at it. I’d make spaghetti but I’m pretty sure Matt would cry. We’ve had spaghetti so much over the past few weeks because it’s one of the foods that I crave constantly. I crave spaghetti even when not pregnant, but being pregnant gives me the perfect excuse to actually have it several times a week.

PLUS!!! My lovely, beautiful friend Cristy gave birth to her beautiful baby girl last night! They named her Tzigana-Mae Winter – such a pretty name! So stoked for her and her hubs! My little Ziggy {yes, she’s MINE ALL MINE lol} is so freakin’ adorable!!! Congrats yet again friend!

♥

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in N, photos, pregnancy, scribbles, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

