My Little Man

Matt’s friend, Nic, is in town for the week, so we decided to meet up with Nic and Mike for dinner. It’s been a while since we’ve gone out for dinner – we usually cook at home or do “anything nights” on our lazy nights {which consist of soup and grilled cheese, usually. Or breakfast for dinner..} I feel bad for again ignoring our budget, but Matt really wanted to go out for dinner. So, we did? Whom I’m kidding??? I wanted to get out of the house for a bit too!

cheeky indeed!

blurry but cute: Nolan holding Uncle Nic’s hand!

It was a lot of fun! Nolan was a doll, as per usual, such a little ham. He had a blast “proppin” the boys {Matt taught him how to give props, I need to get it on video because it’s adorable!} and stealing pasta off Mama’s plate. We ordered him fries and chicken stripes, and he got to dip his fries and chicken in the plum sauce all by himself. He was actually quite good at it! Watching him kind of made me sad, because he’s such a little boy now and it’s hard to see any “baby” at all. But then he started dipping pasta noodles in the plum sauce…and putting them back on my plate. He’s thoughtful like that.

We had one, rather awkward incident. Poor Nolan had some…erm, “hard poops” I guess…and was crying and carrying on because of it. Seriously, I don’t know why this kid has such a..erm, hard time pooping. The amount of raisins and fiber he gets is quite ridiculous! Mike’s son was/is the same way, apparently. So I took him into the bathroom for some privacy and rubbed his belly to help him work the rest out. He was not a happy camper at that point, probably because the poor kid hates public bathrooms. I’m so not kidding! He saw the public diaper change pad table and looked at me with big “WHY MOMMY” eyes and started bawling. He tried to hang onto me, as he always does, when I laid him down {after disinfecting, I might add. Mama is completely obsessive compulsive about public washrooms and everything MUST be wiped down…hmmm, I wonder where he gets it from?}.

When we got back to our table, it was time for Nolan’s desert! He was allowed to choose from chocolate or vanilla ice cream {we picked chocolate}, but he would not eat it. Nolan also apparently hates cold things? Yeah, I don’t know. He’s like me: weird!

Matt went out with the boys for drinks, and I took Nolan home to bed. But not before we had a mini snuggle-fest and photo shoot!

Ya, I had an epic hair fail like all day long. And I destroyed my bumpit because I got mad at it. So, RIP bumpit? I’ll have to “tease” my hair for shape now. Boo.

Anywho: so post summary; Nolan is adorable and dinner out with friends was much needed.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in I don't know, just thoughts, love love love, mama musings, my kid is AWESOME, pictures, updates, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Little Man

  1. Danielle says:

    Ahhh Landon hates public change tables too. He always like clings to me to the point where he’s digging his finger nails into me as I lay him down to change him.
    Glad you had a nice dinner with your friends 🙂

  2. littleelle says:

    note: june 2011… keep those beautiful baby cheeks away from me. i’m going to nom on your child! gosh he’s adorable.

  3. IamTheAnyKey says:

    RE: the hard poops… Is there any chance he’s lactose sensitive or gluten sensitive? Maybe ask the doctor about how to check things like that – though I think the ‘easiest’ way is to just eliminate and see if it changes anything.

    I sure hope he isn’t, but it might be worth a shot if there seems to be no other cause…

Leave a Reply

