A {Very Sad} Letter to BlackBerries {specifically mine}

Dear BlackBerry:

I love you. I’ve loved you since the first time I held you in the Bell store, not even two months ago. You were far prettier and faster than my old BlackBerry, and you had wireless capabilities. I treat you like a queen, you practically sit on a royal cushion day after day. The kind of treatment you get is actually quite ridiculous.

And yet, randomly, you refuse to lock. I now am that person who butt calls everyone. You refuse to ring, no matter what setting you’re on. You refuse to sound the alarm should I set it. I don’t know what I ever did to wrong you, to hurt you…but you’re hurting me by acting up so quickly into our relationship. I thought we were meant to be! I even paid extra for your pretty self! But now you mock me by not working.

A girl needs a lock button, and a girl needs to be able to hear her phone should it ring {or the alarm, should it go off}. I’m worried about our future together…if this is happening just two months into our relationship…well, I have reason to worry. Obviously, I now have to take you all the way in to a Bell store and send you off for repairs. But I’m worried those repairs won’t fix the future issues, I’m worried that as soon as your warranty wears out, you will fall to the same fate my last BlackBerry did. I’m worried all the issues I’ll have with you will cause me to go literally insane.

You know, I renewed my contract with Bell for another three years to get you. I thought for sure that BlackBerry had improved their phones, since everyone else I talked to had no issues with it. But alas, here we are…you’re not ringing, nor are you locking. I butt dialed six people already today. Luckily they were all Matt, but still. You didn’t get dropped, you didn’t get thrown, you didn’t get left out in the freezing cold of my car. You are treated like a celebrity. I’m beginning to think you’ve got Lindsay Lohan’s personality: despite all the allowances you have, you’re still a drunken mess.

I hope that when I take you in for repairs, it solves all of our issues together. Otherwise, I’m going to have to replace you again. Only this time? I’ll replace you with an iPhone. Yeah, I went there.

Love,
Your owner with the broken-heart:
Jess

P.S. I really don’t want an iPhone, I want you, but I want and need you to work properly. We’re in this together, for three years.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in challenges, changes, funny shit, good times, I don't know, I'm kinda a lunatic, letters, love love love, me me ME, stuff that bites, telling stories, the random, this crazy train, um what?, what I'm feeling, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A {Very Sad} Letter to BlackBerries {specifically mine}

  1. Shannon says:

    I can think of 5 people (including myself) right off the top of my head that have had those kinds of issues with the blackberry. It was a terrible phone for me. I heart my iPhone soooo much! It is a thousand times more user-friendly with non of the stupid issues of the blackberry. It just works. Which is kind of what I want from a phone! Hope your problems get sorted out, but if they don’t, don’t be afraid to leave the crackberry for something better!

    • Ugh. I keep hearing that lol but I WANT the Blackberry to work, because it has so many features that I love 😦 next time round, I will be going with the iPhone I think. But I do have 3 more years…I guess I’m a gluten for punishment?!

  2. littleelle says:

    if you get an iphone this friendship is OVER! hahah (no but seriously! i don’t have unlimited text 😦 … i am addicted to bbm and YOU!)

    but for serious. technology hates us. blacberries specifically. the end.

  3. Lol @ butt calling. Too bad you can’t call the whole thing off and find yourself a new one. You shouldn’t put up with that kind of disrespect from a lousy, old phone. :-p

  4. Jessa says:

    My Blackberry started doing things like that. You’ll probably have to try doing a hard reset and lose all your information. It sucks. Mine eventually went to the crapper. It took less then a year.

    • Arrrg!!! I hate BlackBerries. But I love them!?

      • Jessa says:

        Yeah, I loved mine to death. It was perfect. Can you say, addicted to track balls? LOL It’s why I decided to go with a Palm when we switched to Verizon. I didn’t want to deal with the same issues, but then my Palm wasn’t that great either.

      • BAHAHA! I hated the trackball!!! Mine kept busting up on me. I love my new phone so much {except for the tinsy detail of it not working properly}! The track pad is much faster and easier than the track ball, and it’s got wifi. ❤

        BUT it doesn't lock or ring 😦 sniff sniff. From what Twitter tells me, they can fix it but within a couple of months it will happen again 😦

  5. Danielle says:

    I HATE Bell. Truly. I’ve been with them for almost 2 years and they still won’t let me upgrade until December 2011. They’ve sold my boyfriend a broken phone cover like ten times. I hope they’re not dinks and fix your phone free of charge! It’s the least they can do for loyal customers who commit themselves to a 3 year contract!

    • I hope they don’t dink me around either, and that’s absolutely horrible about the phone cover! It’s a damn phone cover, it’s not that bloody hard to tell it’s broken!!! GARD.

      I know, they need to smarten up with their customer treatment quick times.

  6. Mean BlackBerry. Can you take it in and have them fix it?

Leave a Reply

