New Tattoo

 Stencil
 Outline
 
Completed ❤
Last night I got my tattoo! I’ve been waiting 2+ years to get something “for Nolan”. I decided to get Max from Where The Wild Things Are because I loved reading that book when I was a kid and I love reading it with Nolan. Nolan’s middle name is Daniel, and I wanted to include it because I love his full name {plus it’s my daddy’s name!}. I absolutely love it!

What I didn’t love was the 3 hours and 45 minutes I waited before even getting started with it. My appointment was for 5pm, and when I got there the artist was with another client. His receptionist/assistant/whatever told me “he would be finishing up soon”. So I sat down to wait. Two hours later, the guy finally decided they had done enough work for the day, and left. But not before I was forced to endure an extremely in-depth conversation with the dude’s girlfriend {who was waiting for her boyfriend to finish getting tattooed}. The receptionist started setting up for my tattoo, but then her sister arrived to pick her up so she left early. The tattoo artist had to draw out my tattoo on the stencil paper, and then finish setting up for my tattoo {and practically had to re-do the whole set up because the receptionist didn’t do anything}. But during all that, he kept getting tons of phone calls and was getting noticeably pissed off with whoever was calling. I think it was a friend, asking for a favor. In any case, I found it completely rude. When that person finally stopped calling, the tatty artist’s girlfriend and her friend showed up. When they left, the tatty artist had to play with the guns and make sure they were exactly how he wanted them for my tattoo. Finally, around 9pm we finally got started. I was a little annoyed at first {because it took so bloody long} but the artist was super gentle. I’ve been tattooed by some people with really heavy hands, so this was a treat. Plus he was really interested. Very political and think out side the box. He kept the conversation flowing with interesting things, mostly about religion and stuff, but I totally didn’t mind listening because he wasn’t forcing his belief on me. He was talking about how people don’t really think outside the box. It’s totally true.

So, I was extremely impressed with his work, but I think he needs a new assistant/receptionist. When she was “setting up” for my tattoo, I asked her how long she had been working there and she said she had been there since the beginning of the summer, but co-oped before that. I was surprised, because she didn’t seem to have any idea what she was doing. She kept having to ask the tattoo artist how to do things like change the font size on my tattoo and even on how to properly wipe down the station. Crazy huh? He ended up re-doing everything, while I was wondering what the point was of even having a receptionist/assistant that didn’t really know what to do. She was super nice, don’t get me wrong, and she had a ton of cool tattoos, but…I dunno. I think after that much time there she shouldn’t have any questions about something that happens every day {cleaning up stations, setting up, changing font sizes etc}.

Anyway, I’d go back to this artist for sure! Although I’m going to wait a bit for the next tattoo and focus on “getting healthier”. Matt doesn’t want me to consume crap during the future pregnancy like I did during the last one haha. He wants us all to eat healthier – which I have no problem doing, I’ve just never really learned how to cook “healthy”. I cook a lot of pastas and casseroles. Mmm. We need to buy some salad and fruits.

I feel guilty for getting my tattoo but I totally love love love it. AND it wasn’t as expensive as I thought! Because I waited so patiently, he only charged me $160 for the tattoo – and we must have been tattooing for at least two hours. Shops here charge $120 per hour, so it should have cost me $240. I’m thankful for the break in price, it definitely made up for the long wait.

I don’t think Nolan has really noticed my tattoo. He did rawr at me a lot so far this morning {he rawrs whenever we read Where The Wild Things Are} but he hasn’t looked at it or touched it {thankfully! It’s a tad sore!}.

So what do you think?!?!

Nolan and I are going to have a lazy day today. We were supposed to hang out with my friend Brittany and her daughter, but a Facebook status update on her part last night stated that her daughter had a fever so I doubt that’s going to happen 😦 I’m super bummed about it. I might just go out for lunch with Nolan, to the diner. To get out of the house for a little bit.

Oh balls. That reminds me: we were totally going to go to the Early Years Center for the morning, but Nolan let me sleep in and then we had breakfast and I had to clean the extremely messy kitchen because apparently my husband is incapable of washing dishes. So we’ve missed basically all of it 😦 Oh well, I suppose we’ll try again next week. We are going to a brunch at my sister-in-laws tomorrow, so it’s not like we’ll be locked up all weekend.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Tattoo

  1. I freaking LOVE it! Are you planning on getting one for Archer?

  2. jessi ♥ says:

    @Beautiful Mess: sure am! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

