I want to rename today “SatALLday”

Nolan actually let me sleep in this morning! Usually he starts trying to wake up at 6am, then he’ll fall back asleep until 7am and insist upon getting up. I didn’t get in until super late last night, and therefore didn’t get to bed until after 12am, so I was totally expecting Nolan to wake up super early as punishment for my staying up late {because he usually does}. But no! I slept peacefully without interruption until about 8am. Then my internal clock beeped and I was up, but Nolan slept an additional 20 minutes.

He had toast for breakfast because I literally had no counter space free. Matt is like incapable of washing dishes when I’m not home. If I cook dinner and ask him to wash them, he has absolutely no problem, but if I’m not home they will sit on the counter. Matt doesn’t see messes the way I see messes, he doesn’t get anxious and ticked off to see a bunch of dishes on the counter the way I do. I’m irritated with him because he said he’d do most of them when I looked at the heaping pile of dishes last night with sad eyes. None of them were washed. Just the stuff that I had washed before I left for my tattoo appointment. So, yeah. Irritated.

Matt is ice fishing today. Saturdays are when he gets out of the house with his boys. He keeps begging me to come and bring Nolan, but I know that Nolan and I will not last out in the ice shack. He claims we will because they have a heater and it’s super hot, but I just don’t want to go with Nolan so little. He’s a trouble maker and a half, and I don’t see him cooperating around the ice holes and the heater. Plus, they’re all Matt’s college friends: kidless. So I’m sure having a toddler there would be fun at first, but grow tiring. Especially when Nolan needs to nap or eat. Maybe next year though!

Instead, I’d much rather spend today sitting on my butt relaxing, snuggling with my little man, maybe catching up with a few loads of laundry, finishing the rest of the dirty dishes, and building some epic Megablock towers. Which is why I’m totally renaming today “SatALLday” 😉

Nolan hasn’t even noticed my tattoo yet!!! I’m not sure if this is a good thing {because this means he hasn’t tried to grab it or hit it or scratch it off} or a sad thing {because HELLO, it’s for him}. I guess I’m kinda glad he hasn’t noticed, because it’s still tender and sore. Oh well, I’m sure now that I wrote that, he’ll notice.

Also; I totally failed at taking Nolan to the EYC like I said I would. Totally not my fault though! Nolan let us both sleep in, and then there was the mountain of dishes I had to wash, then I had to eat my own breakfast and by the time all that was said and done, there was no point in going to the drop in play group. Oh well…there’s always next week!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in just thoughts, telling stories, the good, the random, this crazy train, tidbits, um what?, updates, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I want to rename today “SatALLday”

  1. Danielle says:

    Landon kept me up for 10 months but he’s SUCH a good sleeper now. Today he slept until like 9:30. Hannah sleeps through the night but she gets up really early like Nolan does. Ya win some, ya lose some.

    Ryan will do anything I ASK him ask him to do. If I don’t ask him to do it…basically dishes would attract fruit flies and still nothing would be done about it LOL. I’m like you…mess drives me nuts. I rarely go to bed with dirty dishes because I will lay awake in bed thinking “I should do those dishes. I should do those dishes. I should do those dishes.” Haha. I’m horrible, I really need to take it down a notch!

    I can’t wait for Ryan to take Landon fishing. He can’t wait too. But I’m way too terrified of falling through the ice to let them do the ice fishing thing. I had a bad experience as a child…my childhood best friend fell through the ice and I had to save him and ever since I’m really afraid of water and ice and whatnot. On Christmas day one of my cousins fell through some ice too so that just revamped my fears again.

    Have a great SatALLday! I won’t be on much after my morning check in because it’s my gramma’s surprise bday and I need to spend the next 3 hours getting beautiful hahaha.

Leave a Reply

