WordPress vs Blogger

I made this blog on a whim. My intentions where to figure out how to do a custom background and header for my friend, but then I just…started writing. I started checking out all the features Blogger has that WordPress doesn’t. In a way, Blogger is “simpler”, and a little “messier” than WordPress. But as far as I can tell..there is no “storage upload max limit”. I bought a domain for my WordPress blog, and yet I still have an upload limit {which I’ve basically almost reached}. To get more storage space for uploads, I’d have to spend at least 20 bucks.

WordPress displays comments more effectively, and shows your site stats better. But it was so easy to throw this whole layout together. And again, unlimited {?} upload space. I upload a lot of pictures. I’ve slowed down on my other blog because I didn’t want to reach my limit. But part of my blogging experience is sharing pictures.

I also love how Blogger allows you to easily change the fonts on your blog without a “custom CCS package” {which costs an additional $20 a year}.

But I’m still not sure I want to move completely from WordPress to Blogger. I’m not sure I want to delete my other blog and bring everything – everyone – over here. Who knows where things will go from here? I’m just experimenting, and writing.

But really…Blogger is holding tons of appeal for me right now. It provides the two main things I hate about WordPress – I can change the font on my blog, and I can upload pictures “without a limit” {or at least, I can’t find a limit. Maybe there is one and it’s just hidden. In that case, BOO!}.

I’ve even installed Disqus for comments, since I don’t really love how Blogger comments work {you can’t reply directly to a comment someone’s left}. Now that I have Disqus, I can directly reply to comments. So score! 

So…should I stay or should I go now?! That’s the question. Plenty of time to decide!


About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

