Cab’s here! It’s Jersday!

Ok, I know I’m totally lame for typing that sentence up. Please forgive me. I have a horrible guilty pleasure in watching reality TV…and Jersey Shore is one of my all time favourite reality TV shows. Every Thursday night, Matt and I curl up on the couch with a bunch of junk food and watch, mouths agape as they Jersey drama spills into our living room. It’s fantastic.

I do have to wait until 10pm, so in the meantime I’ve decided to blog. Wee! Such fun, yes?!

Today was kinda horrible on my nerves. I have no idea why. Sometimes, days just kick my ass without warning or reason. Today was one of those days. I had little patience and was just worn out, until my second wind hit me at like 3:30. Or rather, my only wind because it felt like I was dragging serious ass all day before that. Sigh. Can I blame winter on that too?

When T first arrived, we watched Alvin’s and the Chipmunks. Nolan was in an extremely cuddly mood – and this mama likes when her baby peach is in an extremely cuddly mood!

After the movie, I cooked us up some yummy Mac & Cheese {using the Old Cheddar Matt bought yesterday…NOM} and finally gave Nolan his new bowl/plate thing.

Nolan has this…thing…with eating food straight out of the bowl/plates, he won’t. It has to be on his tray before he’ll eat it. I have no idea why, or even when this started. I have to scoop food onto his tray and give him the spoon/fork, then he’ll eat it. Weird huh? So I thought if I bought him a cool plate, it might make a bit of a difference. This plate cost me 2 bucks from Winners, so either way…right?

It worked for the first half of his meal, then he went back to only wanting to eat food off his tray.

Sigh.

Is this a stage? Will it straighten out? Or will I have a 7 year old who must eat all his meals off my kitchen table?

Anyways. When Nolan went down for his nap, I brought out some painting stuff for T.

She loved it! I’m fresh out of those cute little dollarstore paint kits, so I’ll have to buy some more. And a couple smocks too {since Matt’s getting irritated that I’m using his shirts to catch paint T drops haha!}.

After she painted, T wanted to watch a movie. I’m all for quiet activities while Nolan naps so I put Cars for her and within ten minutes she was passed out on the couch.

I also wanted to nap, but I didn’t. Matt brought me a slushie from Macs {banana flavoured! YUM} and we split a plate of blue nachos, salsa and cheese. NOM NOM! I know, we totally eat like heifers!

Fast forward to bath time…we gave Nolan a couple ridiculous haircuts πŸ˜‰

He’s finally getting more hair! Wee! I highly doubt I’ll be taking him to get his first haircut any time soon, but still! At least we can give him crazy mohawks right? Or the Alfalfa do!

So yeah, that was basically our day – in more words or less πŸ˜‰

And I’m a complete dummy. I thought that WordPress was telling me I had used 75% of my storage, but it is really just telling me I have 75% of storage left. D’oh! So no worries about running out of storage any time soon. Haha.

In other, random news: Matt and I are appalled by a commercial we just saw on TLC, some cake show where they had to cater to a 6 year olds birthday party – a birthday party that cost 26 grand.

UM WHAT?

26 GRAND ON A KIDS BIRTHDAY PARTY?!?!

I asked Matt why they didn’t just save that money for the kid’s wedding day, or University, and Matt told me it’s because they probably had like 10x more than that. And in that case, it totally makes me extremely upset to know that there are kids out there who’s parents can’t afford to throw them any kind of birthday party, because they can’t even afford to feed them, and then there are people out there with tons of money that do nothing to help out others.

When I think about all the starving kids in Canada {and America!}, and then I watch TV shows like Party Mama’s, I get super stabby.

If we had tons of money like that, we wouldn’t do shit like that. Our kids would still have to work for the things they wanted, and we’d support so many causes it would actually be ridiculous, but in a totally good way. Sure, we’d go on more trips and drive better vehicles than my Grand AM and his Chevy S10, but we’d make sure we gave back to the community just as much as we indulged. Ya know?!

What would you do if you had unlimited funds?

P.S. I love the completely random route this post took. I’m pretty tired, and I’m clearly rambly.

P.S.S. My furbaby says “hey!”

P.S.S.S: Tomorrow is tattoo day! My appointment has been pushed back to 5pm instead of 3, but it’s still happening! Weeeeeee!

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in crazy mama, family, furbaby, good times, guilty pleasures, I don't know, just thoughts, little moments, love love love, mama musings, me me ME, N, our home, reflecting, telling stories, the beautiful, this crazy train, tidbits, toddlerhood, updates, warped mirrors, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cab’s here! It’s Jersday!

  1. SarcasticTee says:

    I’m all for people buying their kids things they want… but good grief!! 26 GRAND!?!?! That’s nuts. Obviously if you have a lot of money, you’re going to want to spent it on your family, but I was raised to work for what I have and I think it should be that way even if you’re extraordinarily wealthy. And it’s disgusting to think of how little it would cost to feed every starving kid in the world compared to how much money some celebrities and such have. I know a lot of rich people do donate to charities, but sometimes it just doesn’t seem like enough when you’re blowing that much on a party. I totally agree with you on that.

    If I had unlimited funds I would donate more than I already do to PeTA and Human Societies and such. I’d also stop working, and volunteer at least five days a week for animal rights groups, disabilities groups, and human rights groups since those are my interests/passions. I mean, yeah I’d spend a little more on clothes, and maybe get a nice haircut once in a blue moon, and perhaps buy a car with a radio that works πŸ™‚ but I would spend a giant amount trying to make the world a better place and making other people’s lives a little bit better, which in turn would make mine better by sharing what I have with them. πŸ™‚ I would pay off my families’ mortgages to make their lives easier and I would buy my brother all the modifications and accessibility stuff we wish we could buy now. I could go on and on!! lol. Great question though. πŸ™‚

    • Great answer!!! I would also pay all my families mortgages off too! And I would treat us all to a vacation πŸ™‚ I’d also do volunteer work, because if I had THAT much money, I wouldn’t need to work and it would be unfair to take money away from someone else who needs it.

      I am happiest when I’m helping others too πŸ˜€

  2. LexiLoo says:

    I’d pay all these danged bills, of course, but that’s boring. Unlimited funds? Lasers, baby. Eyes (worn glasses since kindergarten), stretch marks (eep!), hair removal….

    Ahem.

    I have a suggestion: Is it possible to pull his high chair straight up to the table, so there is no tray? If the tray is out of the picture (i.e., not even an option), maybe he’ll eat off the plate.

  3. tierney says:

    Hahah I always say I just want to win like 5 thousand from the lottery so I could induldge a bit and pay some debt. Everyone thinks it’s funny because they want the big winnings- in the millions!

    Growing up my parents very well off. My dad had a good job at a good company that let him retire very young. Despite that, I’ve worked part time since I was 15 and full time in the summers (when not having surgery lol). I buy what I want and pay for my own vacations. Yes, my parent will buy me shoes if I NEED them, not just want them, toiletries, my education and winter coats, but anything not exactly ‘needed’ is up to me and I think that’s a fair way to have taught me that despite the good fortune my parents have come into, in the real world I do have to work.

    That being said- if I was rich, I would adopt a child or two to share my wealth with. I plan to become a teacher and I’d still like to teach (at least part time) because I think it would keep me grounded, and I’d volunteer locally with youth in the community. I would definitly vacation to exotic places and take more time to engage myself in new surroundings, like learn a new language! I would most definitly pay off my boyfriends truck and buy him the one he really wants, as well as buy my first house. Oh now I’m just rambling, but you catch my drift! If only…

  4. jill says:

    weee! cant wait to see the tat!

    i like jersey shore too but i can never understand whats going on. like i dont understand them and everything is going to fast and woah!

    also? i totally have days like that oto. where i dont get with it until the afternoon. ugh, mom life!

Leave a Reply

