A bunch of random updates

Alright; enough with the weather complaints. Winter is here, and it probably will be for quite some time – as much as I hate it, I don’t think my hate-on is going to make it disappear any sooner.

So yeah, it’s time for some random updates! I obviously need to snap out of my winter induced funk 😉

I didn’t really do much of anything today, besides watching the girls and hanging with my little man. The girls got dropped off at 7:45, and since Matt didn’t have class until later, he stayed inside with Nolan while I walked with J and T down to J’s bus. I love Tuesdays’ because I don’t have to worry about carting Nolan out in the cold.

I always wear my snow pants, my winter coat, my hat, my mitts and my scarf – but I always feel so awkward because there is another girl who waits at J’s bus stop. She’s in grade 7 or something, but she never wears any winter gear {aside from a winter coat}. It just reminds me of my middle school and high school days. I never wore any of that stuff because it just “wasn’t cool”. So am I suddenly “uncool” because I don’t want to freeze my ass off in -30 weather?

Whatever. The funny thing is, I don’t even care anymore.

So yeah; we basically spent the entire day inside, watching movies and playing with toys. Because that’s all there is to do around this stankin’ town in the winter time. I need to ask T’s mom to drop off her car seat on Tuesdays so we can at least go to the coffee group. It’ll give us one day a week when we can get out of the house, right? Even if I’m totally a hermit right now because of this weather.

But I’m getting incredibly bored of just colouring. So I need y’all to suggest some toddler friendly {and, more importantly, inexpensive} activities, since I’m far too uncreative at this moment to think of some on my own. I want to make homemade playdough, but I’m still searching out for a really good recipe. {If you have one, PLEASE give it to me!! I’m looking for an easy recipe, one that T can help me do and that doesn’t require a hell of a lot of ingredients…in relation: why the hell does tarter sauce have to be in playdough?!?!}.

Also: Nolan did a lot of super cute things today. For one: he napped. For the first time in like 2 days. It was fabulous! And even though he napped, he spent a majority of the afternoon cuddling with me on the couch under a warm blanket. He’s done that the last two days in a row, but I thought it was only because he had skipped out on his nap both days. But now I’m beginning to think that he is starting to enjoy cuddling with mama again, and that makes me so incredibly happy. 😀

He played quietly while I made dinner, and at one point when I peaked into the livingroom he was looking under the couch pointing and saying “CAT! HHAAHAHA CAT!” Sketch was trying to hide from him, and he was trying to play with her. Super cute.

Nolan ate his dinner like a champ, but kept demanding the soy sauce. At one point he threw quite the epic tantrum when I told him “you have enough soy sauce on your food”. Yes, that is apparently starting. Joy to the world, right!? After that he decided that he was done with eating, so I put him on the ground to play in the kitchen while I finished eating my dinner. He ran back and forth from the refrigerator to the washer with his little magnetic letters, screaming and giggling like a mad man. T’was hilarious!

Then it was bath time; I had the bathroom door closed and was running Nolan’s bath while Matt was in the livingroom with Nolan. They heard me start the bath and they both came running to the door and started knocking on it. Matt told Nolan to say “Mommy, I’m ready!” and Nolan totally screamed “READY!”

I let him into the bathroom, and he raced over to the tub saying “ready, ready!”. And even while I bathed him and, later dressed him, he kept saying “ready Mommy! Ready!” it was the cutest thing ever. “Ready” is such a cute word when it comes from his mouth!

Yeah, Nolan’s awesome! And even though it’s freakin’ cold out and I’m tired of snow, life is awesome. Because Nolan is in it. 🙂

Tomorrow is my “day off”. I’m heading to the gym for 9am, working out for a bit and then doing my Fit Fix Orientation. I was supposed to do that orientation tonight, but I totally forgot about it. No harm though, I’ll do it tomorrow 🙂 I’m going to try and do 20 minutes on the {sit down} bike, but I’ll stick to 15 minutes on the two ellipticals and the up-right bike. I don’t want to overdo it too much, considering I’ll be going to the gym on Thursday too {since I’m missing Friday}. Also: I’m going to try to shower at the gym. JDC gave me flip flops so I really don’t have an excuse. I just have to remember to pack a change of under hahha. It’s totally painfully obvious just how much of a novice I am at this whole “gym” thing.

T-minus three days until my date with the tattoo gun.

{P.S. How do you like that, two posts in like 10 minutes of each other. Guess I’m not as “cricket-y” as I thought! Sorry they sorta suck. I’m totally exhausted}

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in challenges, changes, family, get fit!, good times, I don't know, just thoughts, love love love, mama musings, me me ME, my kid is AWESOME, N, oh my life, on goals, on motivation, our home, reflecting, telling stories, thankful, the good, the random, things I love, this crazy train, tidbits, toddlerhood, um what?, updates, what I'm feeling, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A bunch of random updates

  1. Mia says:

    I have a play dough recipe, I have used it once plan to use it again now that Hayden is a bit older but it is really easy (and cheap) I had ever ingredient expect for the cream of carter, which I had to buy and it turned out good. Whatever color gelatin you buy the play dough will be that color.

    Here is the recipe:
    1 cup white flour
    1/2 cup salt
    2 tbs cream of carter
    2 tbs vegetable oil
    1 cup warm water
    1 3oz package of gelatin (I used store brand lime gelatin and it came out a beautiful green.)
    Pour all the ingredients into a bowl and stir to combine.
    Then pour it into a pot over medium/medium low heat.
    Stir until it becomes a doughy ball – it will get weirdly clumpy before it balls up.
    Dump the ball out on the a cutting board or counter and let cool for a few min.
    Once cool enough to touch, knead the dough (you’ll want to flour your hands) for a few minutes until elastic.
    Enjoy your play dough!
    Store in a zip-top bag once cool.

  2. Shannon says:

    It’s not tartar sauce in playdough – it’s Cream of Tartar. Very different. It’s a white powder that comes in a little box in the baking aisle. Not sure why it’s exactly needed but I’ve never seen a playdough recipe without it. Luckily it’s cheap and will last you through several batches of playdough.

  3. Just make some bread dough! I played with extra dough all the time as a kid. The best thing about it is, if she eats it, nothing will happen to her — AND you can make fresh bread with the rest!

    6 cups of water
    3 tbsp salt
    3 tbsp yeast
    13 cups flour

    Combine in a bowl with your hands — she and Nolan will love helping with this — and let rise. If you do it first thing in the morning, you can have homemade bread for dinner. I always cut that recipe in half, as half of it makes about three small loaves. I bake it at 350 for twenty minutes, then check the center with a butter knife. If it doesn’t come out clean, bake for another ten and check again. I also love this recipe because I can just cover the rest of the dough and store it in the fridge until the next time I want bread. (Don’t forget about it, though, because it’ll grow mold.)

  4. Aww. Cuddling time with mama is the best thing ever. Jacob is 4 and I am straight up terrified of the day when he’s “too old” to cuddle. 😦

    Play dough sounds like a good activity. I don’t know if Nolan is old enough yet but he could help you make cookies. I know Jacob loves to “help” even if it’s not always helping. :-p You mentioned once he likes to help you fold clothes.

    Also, you could build tents and forts out of sheets. He would probably think that is a blast.

    • I’m also afraid of the day Nolan will be “too old” for cuddling. Sigh.

      Nolan isn’t old enough to help make cookies quite yet, he generally tries to touch the stove and that’s not cool lol. We do build forts but my husband is super great at it and I kind of suck lol. My forts always look sunken in and boring 😦

  5. littleelle says:

    ^^ elizabeth’s idea is great! put a little aside for them to play with, and make a nice loaf with the excess! although i do find bread dough to be SUPER sticky.

    i used to play with goop as a kid ALL THE TIME and i LOVED it! here are 3 recipes (goop, noise putty, and silly putty). http://www.squidoo.com/slime_goop_recipes

    another fun (yet potentially messy) activity? painting! you can get super cheap paints at the dollar store, and use regular paper. also, nolan may be too young to participate, but maybe the girls would enjoy tie-dye? i did it a million times with my mama when i was a kid- t-shirts, undies, pillow cases… etc. or what about building a fort? or baking cookies (which i know you already do), or some sort of clay… bake it in the oven (hand print, or something) and when it’s cooled down they can paint it.

    I DUNNO!

    also, i totally remember being that jack-ass without proper winter clothing! now, every day for work, i’ve got on a whool zip up, a huge scarf, mittens, and a big coat with a hood. i look like a moron, but i’m not freezing, and busing into work is less shitty. for years though, i wore ripped stockings, short skirts, doc martens, and a leather jacket in the winter… surprisingly enough i wasn’t all that cold- but we were mostly indoors getting drunk, or eating big macs at mcdonalds. ahhhh, to be young 😉

    xoxo

    • Thanks for the suggestions!! They’re great Elle can’t wait to try them out ;P

      and yeah, I miss my days of youth. I was never anxious or guilty about anything 😦 and I was oddly warmer too. You’d think with all this extra “weight” I’d be warmer haha

  6. Tina says:

    I found a recipe that’s really easy and you can microwave it to harden. My brother and I used it to make ghosts for halloween.

    1 cup flour
    1 cup salt
    1/2 cup water

    http://familyfun.go.com/crafts/salt-dough-ghosts-671167/
    That’s the website that had the craft and you basically just put everything in a bowl and mix it with a wooden spoon. Not sure how reusable it is, we just used it for the craft it suggested and then painted it after. But it’s cheap and super easy.

  7. Danielle says:

    Aww that’s so cute that he said READY haha. Also I remember being 12 and thinking hats, mittens, scarves, and all that shit were SO uncool. Now I don’t leave the house without it.

Leave a Reply

