Well! That wasn’t so bad…

I went to the gym this morning, to have my first “workout” and do another orientation. My SMIL, JDC, met me there because I really didn’t want to go by myself and Matt forgot his gym stuff in his friend’s truck.

It was so much fun. Yeah, I sweated {a lot}, and I worked my body {also a lot}. I’m starting out slow and building my heart up to it. My heart rate was 185 by the time we were finished, which I thought was super high but JDC assured me it was good for my first cardio workout.

So, yay me! I went, I did 15 minutes on the two different kinds of bikes {the regular one and the one you sorta sit back in}, 15 on both the ellipticals {the regular one and the one where you can adjust the incline etc – man I’m clueless on the names of those things} and then JDC taught me some ab work outs on the mat. Holy mother, it looks a lot easier than it is, but I’ll be practicing those exercises at home so I can get better at it. After that, I had my stretch orientation. Oh. My. Gawd. I am so not flexible! Hopefully with time, it will get easier to do those stretches.

How am I feeling? Well, I’m feeling good! My shoulders and my neck are a little sore, but that’s it {at the moment, anyway}.

Saturdays {when JDC isn’t working} will be our “gym date days”. She’s my “personal trainer” and two Saturdays from today, the 5th, we’re going to do that RPM class. Save me now – it will probably kill me haha.

I’m going to go to the gym tomorrow too, at some point. I need to weigh myself and all that jazz so I know how much I’ve got to lose and where my progress is.

Now I just need to find a gym buddy for the other 6 days a week 😉

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in challenges, get fit!, good times, just thoughts, updates. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Well! That wasn’t so bad…

  1. Heather says:

    Wish I could be your gym buddy!! 😛 I’m glad it’s getting better though!

  2. Danielle says:

    Glad to hear you enjoyed yourself. For me, I just had to go a couple of times to “break the ice.” It made me more comfortable. Good luck and keep up the great work. 🙂

  3. Karen in Oz says:

    So proud of you Jess 🙂

  4. Jessa says:

    Good for you Jess! I need to get to the gym. My husband is yelling at me for not getting out while he’s at work.

Leave a Reply

