The Orientation

So tonight, as I fretted earlier, I had my first orientation at the gym. It was all about learning how to use the cardio machines. Matt ended up staying home with Nolan, but I still left early so I could get a parking spot without any trouble. I arrived at the gym at 5pm – half an hour before the orientation. I went in and nervously waited about. It was nerve-wracking, I felt like everybody was staring at me {they weren’t}. I felt like I was “dressed wrong” {I was wearing my gray leggings, a blue thank top and a black shirt overtop with my dark gray hoodie}. I just felt…self conscious. Big surprise, right? So…I ended up hiding out in the change room, desperately texting my friend Sammi to see when she’d get there.

Only she told me her class was running late.

Insert panic attack.

I steadied myself out by taking a few deep breaths and saying I can do this over and over again. A couple of messages exchanged with Caitlin helped out too, as well as tweeting my anxiety away haha.

So, I stayed, and I went to the orientation and I learned how to use the machines. I even burned a whole 11 calories! WEEE!

I wanted to stay out and workout for a bit, but once I went to my locker {with the spiffy key lock Matt bought me guarding my valuables! I love that very thoughtful man} to text Sammi and see if she was coming or not, all the machines I wanted to use were already in use. After 5pm is the busy time of the night – everyone’s getting off work or out of school.

But the important thing is I went tonight. I was scared shitless, but I did it.

I’m going tomorrow too! I made a commitment to myself {and the gym} that I would go every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday for sure. So after T gets picked up {around 10:30}, I will be going to the gym to get my workout on. I still don’t know if I’m bringing Nolan – normally on Friday’s I would because Matt is usually in school, but tomorrow he doesn’t have his classes because his teacher will be out-of-town. But Matt is going ice fishing with his friends, and he’s not sure if they’re leaving before noon or after. So we’ll see!

I’m also going to the gym on Saturday morning for another orientation – this one is for stretching! I’m pretty excited to learn how to stretch {properly}.

SWING!

When I came home tonight, I was so exhausted and I didn’t even do a proper workout! Matt and I got our little man into bed, then we both decided a nap was in serious order before Jersey Shore. I was so exhausted, it was pretty ridiculous. Then and again, I’ve had several late nights this week…staying up late, watching crappy TV with Matt or just reading blogs. I’ve got to put a stop to that!! I need to make sure my ass is in bed at 9pm on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. YES I AM TOTALLY BASING MY EARLY BEDTIMES ON THE TV SCHEDULE, SO SUE ME. I love watching Teen Mom 2 {Tuesday nights}, Greys Anatomy and Jersey Shore {Thursdays}. I think Much Music will start playing Vampire Diaries on Friday nights at 9…hopefully…so that I can still get to bed for 10 haha.

I know it’s pretty bad to plan your sleeping around the TV, but those are our “date shows”. Matt and I snuggle on the couch and enjoy a couple of hours of mindless reality or complex medical drama. šŸ™‚

In addition to going to the gym today {!!!! so proud of myself haha}, I also recorded everything I ate on a piece of paper. I need to start an actual food journal, but for now this works. I had four monster sized glasses of water today, people! And I had a small snack or meal every 2 hours. I’m still not sure how to actually keep a food journal, but here’s what I have written down on my “food paper”:

7:30am – small glass of orange juice
8:30am – tea
9:00am – 1 piece of toast with peanut butter
9:20am – tall glass of water
9:30am – {another} tall glass of water
10:12am – a banana šŸ™‚
10:30am – tall glass of water
11:30am – small bowl of alphagettis and a piece of bread with butter {bad, I know}
1:3opm – two granola bars
4:30pm – tall glass of water
4:40pm – homemade mac & cheese
9:00pm – handful of chips
9:20pm – milkshake with vanilla ice cream, vanilla yogurt, fruit and a spoonful of hot chocolate mix šŸ˜‰

So yay! I sort of got a little naughty when I got home from the gym, I know. I should have eaten something right away but I was so exhausted I just crashed and when I woke up I was way too lazy to make anything so I grabbed the nearest thing to me – chips.

I’m still waiting to hear back from the trainer about my Personal Health Profile. Once they give me a better idea of what I should be eating for my weight loss/workout goals, I’ll be able to make a meal plan up that I can {hopefully} stick to. I’m going to cut the pasta down a bit in my diet. Usually, we eat pasta like 4 times a week {I know, I know}. I’m going to cut that number down too…one time a week. And that’s totally going to kill me, because I love pasta, but I’ll take it because I don’t want to have pasta completely gone from my life at this point šŸ˜¦ haha.

Matt’s workout goals are totally opposite to mine. I want to lose some weight and tone up, and he wants to bulk up so his diet needs to have more carbs. Nolan also needs to put some weight on, so he’ll be sticking to a high-in-carbs diet too. Which means I’m going to have to eat more salads and fruits, and grilled chicken, while my boys get to have more fun. Lord help me! I am so bad at giving in to things.

But honestly? I am totally excited about this new chapter. I’m totally exhausted, yes, but I’m hoping it will be worth it and I’m hoping my body will adjust and I’ll have more energy to do things that I love.

I just wanted to say thanks for all the words of encouragement thus far! I don’t have a workout buddy yet {because I’m not sure about Sammi’s schedule vs mine}, but at least I have the Interwebz to keep me motivated šŸ˜‰

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in challenges, changes, food stuff, get fit!, good times, growing up, just thoughts, linkage, me me ME, on motivation, on struggles, plans & such, reflecting, telling stories, the difficult, the random, this crazy train, tidbits, updates, what I'm feeling, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Orientation

  1. Tug says:

    You’re doing awesome! That, in my not-a-trainer-or-real-healthy-mind doesn’t look like much food for the day, but the water is great. You can DO THIS!!

  2. Danielle says:

    I LOVE pasta too and I could never only eat it once a week so I started buying whole wheat pasta. It’s not as good as white but I feel a lot less guilty about it.

    Sounds like your orientation went quite well. You’ve inspired me to start keeping track of what I eat better…I think I might end up feeling pretty guilty aha.

  3. Good for you. I’m not sure how to write a food journal either, but your’s seems pretty thorough. I love working out and even when I don’t feel like going, I remind myself how great I’ll feel afterwards. And four glasses of water… that’s great!

  4. Melanie says:

    For your food journal – I use http://www.livestrong.com. Just register, go to my plate and it’s pretty simple. It definitely makes me think twice about some of the “good” stuff I thought I was eating. Congrats on getting started to being healthier.

  5. CriRi says:

    Go Jess! šŸ˜€
    I miss going to the gym, I was a cardio junkie back when all my stuff didn’t pop out constantly. I’m glad your orientation went well, and you have a plan!
    Good luck!
    You’ll be great šŸ˜€

  6. elle says:

    “10:12am – a banana :)”

    … i LOVE how stoked you are on eating a banana! … so cute.

    i’m super proud of you mama! the workouts will totally make you feel more energized throughout the day. good luck!

    • Bananas are BOMB hehe. I never get them usually because my child is a fruit hoarder and if I have a banana he will eat it ALL just so I don’t get any LOL! He also runs faster than a fat kid at a birthday party when they bring out the cake if he hears the toast pop. LOL

Leave a Reply

