My Hands

I need to start taking better care of my hands. They do so much for me…they change diapers, they reach for things, and they lift things. They pick up toys and fold clothes. They prepare food and feed little mouths. They hold hands and wipe away little tears. They wash dishes and write letters. They do a million other little things throughout each day, and I need to start taking better care of them because those hands, my hands, are raw and sore from all the dish washing and what not. They are dry, they are painful, and I really need to get some cream on these poor hands very soon.

Winter has never been this rough on my hands. Then and again, I’ve only just become stricter in washing the dishes. I try to always make sure that I do them after every meal, so that my kitchen is always clean. Occasionally, I let it slide. But for the most part I’m pretty good about it. I just hate trying to function in a messy kitchen, I hate looking at dirty dishes from the previous meal while I’m trying to cook again. It’s just…gross.

My hands take a lot of beating.

But winter isn’t just difficult on my hands; on the skin of my hands. Winter is difficult on every bone in my body, especially this winter. I don’t remember last winter being this painful, although I suppose that’s always the case.

Honestly though, I’m so ready for spring. I’m so ready for warmth. I’m so ready to not have to struggle with my door every freakin’ day because it’s frozen shut. I’m ready for flowers and green grass, for walks that don’t need to include jumping over snow banks that are higher than my waist with three kids. I’m so ready for more time outdoors and less time indoors {doing dishes?}. I’m just ready to kiss the bitter cold goodbye.

It has been snowing now since 7pm – it’s nearly 11 now – with no signs of letting up. Which will make the trek to J’s bus stop tomorrow morning not so enjoyable. On the up side, Nolan doesn’t have to come with us because Matt will be home. He doesn’t have class until 11. Tuesdays are the only days when I have the girls that I don’t have to bundle up poor Nolan and force him to come wait at the bus stop with us. So, in a way, they are my “favourite” days ~ other than Mondays, when I only have the girls after school for a couple hours and therefore no need to leave the warm house, and Wednesdays when I have the day off from watching the girls.

But never the less, I’m still not looking forward to going outside in that bitter cold, icy white stuff.

Spring, Summer and Fall are so much easier than winter, and it feels like winter lasts longer than all of the other seasons put together. Why is that?! Why can’t spring feel like it drags on and on? Or summer? Why does it have to be winter?! I feel like I’m living at the North Pole or something! It really wouldn’t surprise me if I looked out the window and saw a polar bear sauntering by.

Are you tired of winter yet? What things are you doing to prevent “cabin fever” from settling in on you and your kiddos?

Also…do you have any suggestions for hand creams that work fast and aren’t so, you know…hand creamy? {I hate the sensation of moisturizer on my hands…I’m weird}.

P.S. I ask a lot of my readers, I know! But I really am running out of fun indoor activities, and I really do need hand cream that doesn’t feel like hand cream but works super fast because my hands are totally raw and sore {along with all my other damn parts}.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in I don't know, just thoughts, mama musings, me me ME, pictures, telling stories, the random, what I'm feeling, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to My Hands

  1. Amanda says:

    Aveeno Active Naturals Daily Moisturizing Lotion is the best! I love it. I use it every day. It absorbs quickly but makes an impact.

  2. ocb says:

    Dr.Hess Udder Ointment. I love it so much!

  3. CriRi says:

    ok well. i know you don’t like the feeling of stuff on your hands, but i STILL recommend Glycomed. It’s THE BEST for taking care of painful hands and not having to keep using it. You can get it at Shoppers. But test it first, it’s not cheap. But yeah. That’s my two cents ;P

    Winter? We are no longer friends. We have to have a space heater on in our room and it’s still cold. And the space heater dries the place out terribly. We’re gonna have to invest in a Humidifier for next winter I think. This has been the coldest winter our city has seen in a long time, and we are in pretty much as southern Ontario as you can get. I’m just grateful we don’t have to walk to do all our shopping and errands in it like when we lived in Toronto!
    Still I’m a suck about the cold. It makes all my joint issues so much worse.
    I crack like dead twigs.

    I’ll have to let you know next winter about cabin fever and a kid. But maybe i’ll have a super awesome kid who’s happy with a spoon.

  4. Shruthi says:

    The skin on my hands peel off when I use detergent. So, essentially, washing the bathrooms, mopping the floors, doing the laundry is an extremely painful exercise for me. I would recommend latex gloves. It’s one more thing to think about, I know, but it’s something you need to do to take care of your skin 🙂

  5. I use Jergens Ultra Healing, and Olay Quench Daily Lotion. (I am a lotion whore.) I like the Olay because it’s not too creamy, and it softens my skin. The Jergens I use for when it’s super dry, or to help with the “eczema” on my right hand (I’m still not entirely convinced that it’s eczema, since it keeps disappearing and coming back in the EXACT! SAME! SPOTS!). The actual patch of eczema on my right thumb is almost completely gone now, and I think Jergens had something to do with that.

    I also know that any kind of lotion with oatmeal helps heal skin. Someone mentioned Aveeno above; Aveeno has an oatmeal base. That would probably be your best bet for healing, and then you should continue to use a lotion with vitamins A and E to keep your skin healthy.

    Ahh, I love lotion. 😀

  6. Pingback: Tuesday Cuteness! | The Bottle Chronicles

  7. Danielle says:

    I’m sorry the cold actually causes you pain. It makes me feel guilty for complaining, I can’t even begin to imagine the discomfort you’re feeling.

    I’m kind of obsessive compulsive about dishes. We go through about one bottle of Sunlight or Ivory dish soap each week. I prefer Sunlight for my dishes. I prefer Ivory for my hands. And I like to use Nivea skin cream.

    I am also so ready for spring. It’s so nice to just be able to take the babies and go. I hate having to bundle them up from head to toe. They don’t like it either and usually before we end up leaving there are tears from at least one of them.

    • Don’t worry about it hun! Winter affects us all the same we; we all have a right to get tired of it and complain!

      I’m a Palmolive with Oxy fan. I love how it cleans and how it smells!!

      I agree, spring will be so much better…walks will be possible, and outings won’t take ALL DAY LONG. We’re on the same page!

Leave a Reply

