The Wedding: Part Four; The Dinner & Reception

After we took photos at the waterfront, it was time to go back to the hall and decorate ~ and quickly at that, we were on a time frame. Despite the fact that we were on a time frame, the hall ended up looking just as gorgeous as it did when it was set up for the ceremony; all thanks to Nat and her decorating skills.

Dinner was a small, intimate little gathering at a tiny local restaurant a block away from the hall. I couldn’t have chosen a better venue, despite the fact that I had no clue where the best place to host a wedding dinner would be. This place though? Was amazing. The food was great, the service was great, all in all the whole experience was great! Everybody was happy. Which is a good thing!

After dinner, it was time for the reception. I was nervous all over again. You see, I’m kind of shy. I don’t really enjoy being the center of attention. Obviously, I was the center of attention on my wedding day. But thankfully it wasn’t too bad, because we didn’t really invite a whole lot of people.

The speeches were amazing…seriously? I wish we had filmed them, but I didn’t bring a video camera and as far as I know nobody else did either. My dad went up first, and his speech was so beautiful, I had to fight back tears. I’ll be getting a copy of it to print out and hang up on a wall somewhere, so I can see it and read it whenever I want.

Matt’s dad was next, and he told a hilarious story about Matt and gave us some words of wisdom. The story was about that ‘one time’ {pfff we all know it was more than once} Matt took his dad’s ATV without permission and ended up getting it stuck in a swamp. He and his buddies got it out and cleaned it up, but failed to clean out the air box so his dad knew someone had taken it. It was just a hilarious story, and it’s funnier when my FIL tells it. After Matt’s dad said his speech, Matt’s best friend Nic was up.

He told the other side of the ATV story, their side, which was even funnier than Matt’s dad’s story, and told me to put my left hand down on the table. Then he told Matt to put his left hand on top of my left hand. Then he told me to put my right hand down on top of Matt’s hand, and Matt’s right hand on top of my right hand. Then he said, very seriously: “Matt, buddy…this is the last time you’ll have the upper hand”.

I died laughing, So did everyone else.

Shannon {my oldest sister and maid of honor} was the last to go, and her speech was so sweet and lovely it also nearly made me cry {I say nearly, because I fought the tears and WON!}. I will also be getting a copy of her speech. πŸ™‚

After speeches Matt and I had our first dance.

We chose to dance to this little number, All I Need by Within Temptation.

We were both nervous, and both felt a little awkward. Matt said “It’s just me and you here,” and I started to calm down a little. Until we realized that we picked a ridiculously long song to dance too & felt awkward because everyone was staring at us {duh, did I tell you we hate direct attention? LOL}.

And what better way to avoid feeling awkward having everybody stare at you during your first dance than to attempt at a dip? Yup, we went there…we awkwardly went there. But hey, you can’t blame us…we got a little dizzy and bored just dancing around in a circle.

{On second thought…this photo of the dip didn’t happen during our first dance. It happened sometime later during the night, because Matt has a beer bottle in his hand LOL. In any case, I’m SURE our dips during the first dance looked just has bad/awkward!}

After our first dance, it was time for the father/daughter dance. I chose to dance to Heartland’s I Loved Her First. Matt danced to Shinedown’s version of Simple Man and our wedding party danced to Edwin’s Alive {and halfway through the song, I had Papa cut in and Matt danced with my mom}.

The rest of the evening was a wee bit of a blur, but in a good way. I wandered about, trying to visit with everyone and talk to all the guests. It’s harder than it looks! I think I did a pretty decent job, but I was soo tired. It didn’t help that I kept doing ridiculous dances, and attempting to swing dance when I, well, can’t swing dance.

Ah well, the attempts were funny!

At around 10 or 11 or so, my older sister Kate and Matt’s older brother Tyler did the sock dance {which is when the older siblings of the bride and/or groom who aren’t married yet wear the UGLIEST pairs of socks they can find and dance around ridiculously to music and guests throw money at them for the bride and groom}, and they danced to Aqua’s Barbie Girl. It was the most funniest thing I have ever seen! And they made us a pretty penny too!

A little while after the sock dance, we cut the cake and fed each other pieces. Matt made me promise not to shove it in his mouth, but then he broke his own rule so I just had to get him back because it totally wasn’t fair. Heh.

And after we cut the cake, it was time for the tossing of the bouquet and garter. Now that was interesting, I was super worried one of the eager girls would end up on my back! {And one of them nearly did, since I accidently threw the bouquet up too high and it hit the roof and then dropped down behind me}.

{the girl in the purply/pink dress ended up snagging it}

The garter toss was equally funny, although I noticed the guys weren’t as eager to catch it {heh, I wonder why? It couldn’t possibly have anything to do with the fact that I was wearing the damn thing all night, right? EW}.

After that was done, the crazy festivities began and the guests started doing the limbo under one of the groomsmen’s canes. It was hilarious, although I couldn’t go under it to save my life {my dress made it so that I could not bend backwards AT ALL. Bending forwards was even a challenge}.

And then the sprinkler happened, both old school and new school…

And Matt heated up the dance floor with his buddies…

All in all, it was a wicked night full of hilarious memories!

Matt and I headed out to our hotel room around 2am, we were exhausted. However, some of our guests stayed around partying until 3 and 4 in the morning!

Our honeymoon was short and sweet, and we spent more time out of the hotel room than in it {there was a gift opening Saturday morning, and we went out for breakfast and dinner…} but still, it was awesome! For dinner, Matt took me to a very expensive and fancy restaurant in town, and I tried escargot for the first time ever. It was nasty and I will never attempt to eat it again, I just could NOT shake the fact that I was eating snails and the texture made me wanna puke. Yummy huh?

And thus concludes the wedding day posts! πŸ™‚

Please Note: These photos were taken by and edited by Mandy Getschman, please do not steal. If you’d like to use them for some purpose, please email myself and/or Mandy {Mandy’s email is AudeSapere62442 AT hotmail DOT com, and you can find my email address in the sidebar there.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in family, funny shit, good times, I'm a STAR!, linkage, little moments, love love love, me me ME, memories, milestones, pictures, project; wedding, rainbows and butterflies, reflecting, telling stories, thankful, the good, things I love, this crazy train, this is love, updates, what I'm feeling, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Wedding: Part Four; The Dinner & Reception

  1. Leesy says:

    I don’t comment very often, but love your blog. I just wanted to say congrats! Also, my son is 17 and says that someday (in the far distant future) when he gets married he is going to use Simple Man as the mother son dance. Great song choice actually all great song choices.
    ps I too was a young mother and contrary to what many may think, young moms are capable and can do things their own way without the world ending.

    • Thank you! I love hearing from the ones who like to keep silent πŸ™‚ heh. It is a really great choice for a mother/son song, and I’m so happy with all our other choices too.

      As for that last bit; WORDS TO LIVE BY! I think we can thank MTV for the current society mindframe re: young moms!

  2. You look so gorgeous and happy! I love these shots. I love unposed pictures full of joy. Congratulations! πŸ™‚

  3. You make me seriously unable to wait to get married! It sounds and looks like you had a blast, and I’m so glad that despite all of your worries, things turned out wonderful! Jess, I am so, so happy for you! xoxo

  4. Pingback: the girl behind the camera; Mandy | The Bottle Chronicles

  5. Miss.Words says:

    love love love the photo’s you guys looked so happy and amazing πŸ™‚

  6. Sarah says:

    YOU’RE FINALLY MARRIED!

    HOLLA!

    (Also: YAYAY!!

  7. Crystal says:

    Looks like a fabulous time was had by all!

    And I’ve only known one guy who didn’t smoosh the cake in the bride’s face – my Eddie, and I was evil and smooshed it in his face. I think it’s some sort of man-law that they do it. We actually have a picture of my mom at her (3rd) wedding reception, her face covered in cake, looking like she and her new husband were calling a truce and getting ready for a kiss, until you notice he has a handful of cake he’s getting ready to attack her with again.

  8. It looks like you had an awesome reception! YAY! Fun!!

  9. Danielle says:

    Your wedding reception looked like a total blast! Thanks for this post. While I want the big, dream wedding every girl craves, I’m totally nervous about being on display like that. Looks like despite feeling a little afraid you had a wonderful time πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

