The Wedding: Part One; Getting Ready

I’ve been dying to write this post, but held off because I wanted to wait for the beautiful photos I knew were coming my way from Mandy. Then I decided that since so much happened, I should split up The Wedding posts into parts, because there are tons of gorgeous pictures I want to post and condensing it would be impossible unless I split the posts into parts.

So, here is part one…the getting ready part.

I woke up on Friday morning at exactly 6:50am. I spoke to Matt on the phone quickly {he spent the night at his brother’s with all the groomsmen and his dad} and then I got up and puttered around for a bit while I drank my tea. I was super nervous, and I had crazy amounts of tense energy that I needed to get rid of. SO, with help from my mom we rearranged the entire livingroom.

It looks fabulous. I’ll post pictures of it later though, because this post is obviously all about my wedding, and getting ready for it.

Anywho, after I rearranged the livingroom {again, with help from my mom}, I jumped in the shower. Then I quickly dressed and headed out to pick up my older sisters from their hotel room {my younger sister and mom spent the night at my house with my younger sister’s boyfriend, while my other sisters and their spouses didn’t get into town until really late…thanks to them getting lost haha}. Shannon and Kate tried to force me to eat, but all I could eat was half a bagel and a banana. No worries though, I had some orange juice to keep my sugar level good!

Mandy {my dear friend and our lovely photographer}, my mom and younger sister met up with us at the hair salon, and then the fun began! Mandy took a thousand pictures, documenting every little step of the way. I don’t have all the photos yet, but soon enough I will and I will have to put them up on Flickr or something…trust me when I say there are a lot!

Truthfully, I was a little stressed {okay, A LOT stressed} because I had forgotten my veil and tiara with my wedding dress, at my sister-in-law’s house. Luckily Nat rushed it over for me, but I was still late for my makeup appointment. But since it was my wedding day, the makeup artist totally had no issues with my scatterbrained, forgetful self.

She also helped make me super beautiful; I really loved her work. She made my eyes pop, just like she said she would. I was going to go with red lipstick and light eyes, but I decided I wanted my eyes to be the feature that popped.

Mandy, my dear friend and photographer, accompanied me to the makeup appointment and also took pictures of every step. I haven’t seen the photos from the makeup and hair appointments, but I’m sure they’ll be stunning.

After the makeup appointment, it was time for Mandy and I to drive to Nat’s house where all my bridesmaids and my mom were waiting. We had some champagne and orange juice, some fruit, and then started to get ready.

The entire time I dressed, I was shaking with nerves and excitement, and worrying about our time frame of course.

Mandy snagged several gorgeous pictures of me while everyone else got ready.

She also got some gorgeous photos of just the rings, too.

Before I knew it, it was time to leave for the ceremony…

::::

Please Note: These photos were taken by and edited by Mandy Getschman, please do not steal. If you’d like to use them for some purpose, please email myself and/or Mandy {Mandy’s email is AudeSapere62442 AT hotmail DOT com, and you can find my email address in the sidebar there.

About J.C. Hannigan

25. Mother. Wife. Lover of words. Weaver of stories. My first book, Collide, is available in e-book for Amazon Kindle and Kobo.
This entry was posted in changes, good times, growing up, life as I know it, linkage, little moments, love love love, me me ME, memories, milestones, pictures, project; wedding, rainbows and butterflies, reflecting, telling stories, thankful, the good, things I love, this is love, updates, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to The Wedding: Part One; Getting Ready

  1. Miss.Words says:

    your such a beautiful bride ā¤

  2. Karen says:

    Oh Jess – these pictures are gorgeous! Can’t wait to see more!

  3. Tamara says:

    so gorgeous…i can’t wait to see the other pictures and read the rest

  4. Sam says:

    What gorgeous pics!! I cannot wait to see the rest!

  5. heather says:

    You looked so amazing!! šŸ™‚

  6. apandorabox says:

    you’re gorgeous…

    i can’t believe you re-arragened all the furniture at 6:50 AM!

  7. Emily says:

    Oh this so exciting! I can’t wait to see more pictures and read about the wedding! You look beautiful, I love the hair and makeup!!

  8. Poppy says:

    Congratulations again, such beautiful photos!

  9. Fantastagirl says:

    Congratulations – such beautiful photos, and you made the most beautiful bride… very pretty!

  10. Blaine says:

    LMAO that the start of your wedding day involved rearranging the living room furniture. That’s the kind of thing you can tell people for YEARS. Still chuckling about that. šŸ˜€

    Congrats again, I hope you’ll be telling that story for MANY years! xoxo

    (Pause to finish reading the rest of the entry…)

    Those photos are gorgeous! Getting all teary eyed again, and I haven’t even read about the ceremony. Darn hormones. (Because, suuuuuuure, it’s the hormones… not just me. lol)

    • You’re just a sap ass, LMAO!

      I made Granny laugh when I told her about it. It IS something pretty awesome. “What did you do on the morning of your wedding day?”

      “Rearranged the livingroom furniture!”

      šŸ˜€

      thanks!!!

      • Blaine says:

        lol And how do you know me so well?

        The furniture rearranging is just another thing that made your wedding day unique. šŸ˜€

  11. Mandy says:

    LOVE this post šŸ™‚

    I can’t wait to read the rest!

    And thank you all for the photo compliments šŸ˜€

    • Mandy, your photos are BEYOND spectacular! They are so amazing, and I’ll be dedicating a post just to you when I’m done the whole wedding recount! šŸ˜‰

      xoxox
      YOU ARE THE FREAKING BESTEST!

      • Blaine says:

        I’m seconding this. Your photos are awesome. I was going to start listing my favorite poses/shots, but I’d list most of them. Awesome job!

  12. Shruthi says:

    First, CONGRATULATIONS Mrs.Matt šŸ™‚
    I’ve been DYING to read the wedding posts… finally!
    You’re such a gorgeous bride. You look absolutely lovely… I can’t wait for the rest of the posts and pictures… šŸ™‚

  13. Petunia says:

    Congratulations! I can’t wait to see the rest! And I love that you immediately changed your blog banner šŸ™‚

  14. Stunning photos! You are such a beautiful bride! (also, I love the makeup focus on the eyes too — perfect!)

  15. Vicky says:

    Your weddings pics are beautiful! I hope that day went great. Its funny how you were rearranging furniture. On my wedding day I was vacumming in the morning.

  16. Love the photos! You were a beautiful bride!

  17. You should be a bride every day. You were stunning and ethereal and beautiful and oh, Jess, you made me cry!! You absolutely shined on your day.

    xoxo

  18. Pingback: the girl behind the camera; Mandy | The Bottle Chronicles

  19. These photos are beautiful! I love your make-up too!

Leave a Reply

